Citrus-Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I made this exactly as written except I forgot to strain the basil which turned out to be no big deal, I kind of liked the basil in the dressing. I used it on grilled halibut, Israeli couscous and a salad with green leaf lettuce, tomato and cucumber. My husband and I both liked the salad and couscous with it a lot but the fish was just okay. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Amazing! My only add in was Parmesan! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbeanmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I liked this a lot, but I doubled the basil and tripled the vinegar, and just pulsed everything in my mini processor until smooth. I also didn't strain it. Served it over a tossed baby greens salad with red onion, strawberries and goat cheese - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great dressing...my only change was not to strain this dressing. I wanted all of the bits of citrus, zest and basil on my salad. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was a huge fan of this dressing! Per other reviews, I used canola oil instead of olive oil. Also, I increased the white wine vinegar to 1 Tbsp. I used lemon and lime but I know any combination of citrus would be good. I used dried basil as that is all I had on hand, but I can't wait to try it with fresh basil in the future. Thank you so much Karen- this makes store bought dressing seem so pointless....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I was looking for a lemon based dressing and really enjoyed this one. I used a bit of dry basil since I didn't have fresh. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kunes5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I loved this for a simple mixed greens salad topped with mangos, dried cranberry, goat cheese and walnuts. I did double the vinegar, as I like my dressing a bit more acidic. I also used mango flavored honey from our local farmers market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I loved this recipe. I also allowed some of my co-workers to taste and they, too, loved it! Since I did not have any fresh lemons, I used RealLemon juice and used a little extra to make up for the lemon zest; in addition, I used 2 T frozen orange juice concentrate vs juice. I had to buy 2 more basil plants as I used all of the basil leaves off my one plant. It also helped I think that the basil was lemon-basil. But am now trying it with sweet basil as the nursery was out of lemon basil. Drats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Too sweet. Too citrusy. Even Hubs, who occasionally likes a dressing with a little sweetness, agreed. Could be very good, lightening up on both the honey and the juices and perhaps even eliminating the zest altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Absolutely perfect as is. This officially just became my new go to vinaigrette. Tried it tonight for a side salad, but this will be wonderful over an entree salad with avocado, cukes, red onion and grilled chicken. Perhaps a cilantro lime marinated chicken. I can't wait for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States