Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Yum! Tasty and easy to make. I often use the slow cooker and a bag of frozen seafood to make it extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Only make this when you have a lot of company. Makes a HUGE pot. I don't enjoy leftover fish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It's not a bad base. I used seafood stock and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, as well as mussels instead of clams. Also, I used fresh crab that I had cracked, and put in the stew. I would HIGHLY suggest using red wine instead of white. We used white, and it made the sauce so sour, we had to simmer it for an extra two hours as well as add red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was awesome - my whole family loved it! I basically halved the amount of seafood, but couldn't find fresh clams so I increased the mussels. It made enough for a family of four (mom, dad, two nine-year-olds) that we'll have leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great!! I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and my family loved it! The only think I may do next time is add some extra garlic. Very easy and good tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very good recipe. Made it just the other day and it was great. Now, that said, I listened to some of the other reviewers (slightly). Split the butter 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil (the flavor butter adds is important, as any cook will tell you). I added more garlic (6 cloves), kept the water and used the wine. I added the seafood in the order suggested in another review, and instead of 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, I added 1 can and 1 box of Pomi chopped tomato. Beyond that, make sure, of course, to taste both before and after you add the fish for seasoning. Had to add a bit of salt and pepper but, when it was all said and done, everyone seemed to enjoy it. (Note, the red pepper would have been added, but having small children we kept it out and let guests add it on their own -- most added it and consequently, I'll probably add it in the future while cooking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Simonton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
way way too much time and way way way too much money for a so so meal with no real substance. do yourself a favor and look up a good seafood gumbo. doubled it and got 1 1/2 gal. left over after party, thinking of freezing some, thickening the base and trying it over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Have made this several times and it is always a hit. I always cut the butter in half, add a whole bottle of wine and a bag of langostino lobster tails. Also have found that using diver scallops cut in half instead of bay scallops keep them from getting chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a very forgiving and flexible recipe.It was one of the few leftovers I've frozen that disappeared within a week anyway. I did make some modifications based on the ingredients I had. I had half a red onion, half a brown onion, and a large shallot. The shallot added that something extra that not only really elevates a dish but also made the house smell great and not fishy. I didn't have cod, so I used frozen salmon filets--OK, but would use cod next time. I had sea scallops, not bay scallops, so cut them in smaller pieces--they have a nice, buttery flavor that bay scallops lack. I didn't have clams or mussels so those were left out also. I froze the leftovers in four separate batches, and on reheating a couple of them, added about a cup of half and half each time. Serve with warm, crusty french bread and salad--super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
When they say 12 servings, believe it. I used 1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes and 14 oz's crushed tomato . I have a vegetarian in the house so I used 2 cups of fish stock instead of chicken broth. I also used i cup of clam juice instead of water. It is delicious and got rave reviews from a picky crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States