Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Bella
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Absolutely loved this dish!! I made it for New Years Eve and it was a huge hit with my husband. Doubled the portion on everything and still had lots leftover to serve another 9 people the next day! I served it over spaghetti one night and then over rice the following day (and was told this should become my signature dish for the family). I purchased the seafood portion at Costco: frozen bag of "seafood medley", scallops and farmed mussels (didn't bother with crabmeat or cod) I also added perhaps a cup more of tomato sauce and let the sauce simmer for approximately 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe but tweaked it by adding a couple of spoonfuls of concentrated fish stock and a can of chopped clams in the broth. Oh, and a squeeze of fresh lemon. It was excellent and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Delish and so easy to make! I served this to a family of discerning Italians this Christmas eve, and everyone was so impressed :) I honestly didn't expect this to turn out so delicious, but it did. I used butter and olive oil, a LOT of white wine, san marzano tomatoes, cod, coquels, mussles, shrimp, scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe was so easy. It is absolutely amazing. I served it Christmas Eve to rave reviews. I did make few small changes after researching a lot of recipes. To start, I replaced the mussels with Calamari/squid and the cod was changed to halibut. I replaced the water with clam juice (bottled) as well as a cup of the chicken broth was swapped out with clam juice. In addition, I added crushed red pepper (~ 1/4 tsp) and 1/2 tsp of saffron. Finally, I used San Marzano tomatoes that I broke up with a spoon when I added them. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Altered the recipe and it was very good. Doubled the tyme, added dried red pepper, salt and pepper, used 10 cloves of garlic, no muscles or clams but additional other seafood,and substituted fresh tomatoes for the canned. If I include cleaning the seafood in the prep time, my prep time was much longer than 10 minutes. Next time I may add small chopped cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent! The only change we made was substituting water with clam juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I'd like it a little more thicker sauce. Taste was great. It makes a ton. I shoulda cut it half for the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimbocha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
After looking at the other reviews, I also substituted olive oil for butter, and used store bought fish stock instead of water. I used salmon. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe! Very delicious and will make again next week! Made as is only used olive oil instead of butter an calamari instead of crab meat. Oh, and I added more white wine instead of water. I see lots of people are using red wine, but I'd stick to white wine. It' goes better with seafood. Enjoy this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Delicious, healthy & easy to make! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States