Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I first had this dish in Livorno and it became an immediate favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlchrls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
very very good!! expensive to cook but, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Fantastic! I made the base the night before to let the flavors soak in and it was great! I warmed it up the next day and brought it to a boil dropped it to a low and threw all the fish in for about 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Love this Stew. Anyone I make it for loves it also but I had red pepper flakes to give it some heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious! I went with some other reviewers and used big can of crushed tomatoes and italian stewed tomatoes..clam juice instead of water and a little more garlic/herbs, plus red pepper flakes for some heat. A great base to modify according to your likes. I let simmer for 1 1/2 hours before adding the seafood in stages (clams, crab legs, big scallops, halibut and large shrimp). Dramatic presentation and perfect for Christmas dinner! The thing I loved most about it was I wasn't slaving in the kitchen, missing my family - it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used a bag of Costco frozen shellfish-mussels, shrimp, scallops and calamari. It was about 2.5 pounds, so I cut the other ingredients in half. Added a little extra chicken stock and a couple of tablespoons of oyster sauce instead of water. Also added a good deal of salt and pepper. This ate much better with a spoon as a soup than with a fork. I'm low carb, so I didn't use bread to sop up the sauce so I got a lot more of the flavor with a spoon. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Don't feel bad if you can't get fresh seafood. Not everyone lives on the coast. Substituted EV olive oil for butter, why butter for a Mediterranean dish? The only thing missing in this recipe is salt salt salt. Add 2 teaspoons of salt. It was bland until I added that. I cooked the broth for about 1 hour 15 minutes before adding the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBanjo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harbor Beach, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cotopaxi, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A very good basic recipe. You can basically use whatever fish/shellfish you want, though it's better to use a firm white fish like halibut or cod. I added a little tomato paste for some depth of flavor, and San Marzano tomatoes. I also added a small shot of Balsamic Vinegar (something my great grandpa always added at the end of his). I grew up with Cioppino, and this recipe is a great launching point for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT! My first time making Cioppini. I added more more tomatoes and their liquid, more chicken broth, onions and garlic so I would have more broth. It was SO good even my (little) kids devoured it! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My husband was absolutely stunned and very pleased with this recipe. The kids and I made him a formal dinner at home with music, candlelight, and flowers. This was his bday dinner. My girls participated in the cooking and were very happy to see Daddy so pleased! The girls asked for seconds meaning that these fussy eaters gave this recipe 5stars. I did modify...I used no water...instead clam juice...seafood brooth instead of chicken..instead of cooking the brooth for 30 min I simmered for 1 hour as reviews suggested. Its a great dinner to impress guests and to serve on special occassions. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States