Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Fantastic!!! I made a few changes, took some hints from other reviews. Such as, used 1 large can of crushed tomatoes and 1 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, no water. I also used 1 bottle of clam juice and 1 cup of chicken broth and I added calamari and some extra garlic. I simmered the broth for over an hour, until we were just about ready to eat, and then added the fish (took order from another recipe) first the clams for about 5 min, till they start to open, then the crab legs (about 1 minute) then the mussels, shrimp, squid, scallops and cod. Cook stirring frequently until the mussels open, the shrimp curl and the squid and scallops are just firm (about 3 minutes). Everything was cooked just right and the flavor.......wonderful!!! The recipe served 6 adults and we had a little left over. I took some of the broth and cooked some extra shrimp in it and then added the rest of the broth and fish and warmed it up.....it was wonderful even as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1095 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Those of you who have read my other ratings know that 4 stars means my family loved it. 5 stars is absolutely above and beyond. This is hands-down the best recipe we've ever tried on All Recipes!!!! A few helpful hints if you are going to try this wonderful recipe: Be sure you have a really big pot! You will want to avoid stirring this too much in order to avoid breaking up the meat, so a big pot is critical! Use very dry white wine. A sweet white wine will interfer with the flavor of the seafood, whereas a dry white will compliment the flavor wonderfully! Don't use flake-style crab meat as it will just disappear in the broth. Either use king crab legs in the shell or precook your crab legs and extract the meat for the soup. (if you use crab legs in the shell, add 1/2 lb to the amount) Place the cod in large pieces on top at the very end and cook it quickly. This will ensure that the cod won't break apart and your guests can extract whole pieces to their plates. Cook quickly and serve! If you cook too long the seafood will dry, flake, and lose flavor. The three secrets to success for this recipe: Fresh, Fresh, Fresh seafood! Make this for someone you love. I made it for my Dad and he still raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I hesitated between 4 - 5 stars because this is a really inspired recipe, but I did have a couple of suggestions. I agree with other reviewers that additional fish stock would give it more depth of flavor and I too blanched at all the butter. So used used olive oil, and just a couple tablespoons of butter. Also, if you are using fresh mussels and clams (as I did), they need to go in about 10 minutes ahead of the other fish, because the shrimp, scallops, fish, and crab will cook in about 5 minutes. I'd wait until the clams and mussels start to open before adding the rest. I also added a about a 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes for a little more zest. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was a very tasty recipe. I used a few of the changes reccomended by other reviewers such as using all wine and no water and I added lobster broth to enhance the seafood flavour. The one thing I will change the next time I make this recipe is to use olive oil instead of butter and reduce the amount of fat to 1/4 cup. The large amount of butter made this recipe very, very rich (the seafood is rich by itself it does not need excess butter) and I noticed a layer of fat on the top of the stew (I did not find this appetizing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Wow, this was amazing! It definitely tasted like a restaurant-quality dish. I had a dinner party for 4 people--started with a simple lettuce salad with pine nuts and a lemon-basil dressing. Then we had crab cakes. The cioppino was the main course. (Followed by a creme brulee.) I did make a few changes, but as other people have mentioned, the beauty of this recipe is its flexibility! I like my cioppino very tomato-based, so even though I halved the recipe, I put in a 28-oz can of tomatoes, as well as a 14-oz can of tomato sauce. Also, I used a merlot (red wine) instead of white, because I tend to associate tomato-based dished with a red wine accent. I used a combination of fresh and frozen seafood. I got fresh mussels and a few scallops from Whole Foods, but then I supplemented with a bag of frozen shellfish and some frozen raw shrimp from Trader Joe's. I used fresh basil and a mediterranean seafood seasoning from Whole Foods. Served it with fresh grated parm. cheese on top, fresh ground pepper and a big loaf of fresh, crusty bread. My guests kept talking about it the entire evening! I served a nice Chianti with it, which worked well. My husband and I are both poor graduate students, so we can't afford to make this very often, but we both agreed it was completely worth the price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Overall this is a good Cioppino. Being Italian, I had to delete the butter for a nice Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Other changes...I used crushed tomatoes with added puree and a can of diced tomatoes, no water was necessary, added 1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper to give it a little zip, used red wine instead of white and included squid and sea bass. Yummy hit for a friend's birthday dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Absolutely incredible! I made the broth a few weeks ago and froze it. I had a dinner party for 8 with heavy hors d'oeuvres and then the Cioppino and bread for the meal.I thawed the broth, had it hot and simmering and added the seafood and it was ready in a snap. I used bay scallops and shrimp only and it was superb! Every bit was eaten! Definitly let the broth simmer a long time for the depth of flavor. It will be a staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Liz

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
What a fabulous stew! I replaced the butter with olive oil, added more garlic, but didn't chop fine. I added a handful of parsley and a handful of cilantro. I added 3 anchovy filets and broke them down in the hot olive oil until they dissolved. I added the wine and deleted the water. I put one large can of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of crushed tomatoes. Then added the clams, mussels, bay scallops, jumbo scallops, shrimp and white fish. This is excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYALLEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I used the modifications submitted by ROTED, which I highly recommend. A nice thing about this dish is that it's cost can vary dramatically, depending on the types of fish and shellfish you include. If you're making it for company, I recommend that you add one lobster claw per serving, and add it last so that it is on top of the clams and mussels. This is expensive but well worth it, in terms of both taste and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Amazing! I could just leave it at that...but I won't. The depth in the broth was wonderful before the seafood, but after adding the seafood it was beyond my scope of words. I only used fresh shrimp and scallops - living in the midwest 2lbs each of those cost me $45. I did put in some brown rice and an extra bit of stock to compensate. Instead of water I used two cups of wine and let it simmer for 2 hours before adding seafood. Also, fresh herbs not dried and a full stick of butter added a wonderful richness. My picky boyfriend said "This is great!" and when we discussed maybe spicing it up (pepper sauce?) he decided "No, I like it like this, it's flavorful and comforting". Definatly comforting... will make again and again and pass this recipe on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States