Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Absolutely superb! I made it many times and gave the recipe to many of my family and friends. I make the stew in advance, freeze it and just add the seafood when ready to serve it to my guests. I add more garlic, more thyme and basilic,more salt and pepper and some cayenne. I use 2-1/2 bottles of clam juice instead of chicken broth and water. I do not use clams. instead, I add: 2 lbs of large shrimp, 2 lbs of mussels, 1 lb of scallops and 2 lbs of firm white fish(cod,halibut,red snapper). I serve the stew with crusty toasted garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Fabulous!! I did add some red pepper flakes for some kick. Used a bag of frozen mixed seafood (mussels/shrimp/calamari/scallops) from Costco and made this recipe really affordable (I think the bag was $15). Will definitelly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwalker5
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Holy Cow! Winner winner seafood dinner. I did have to add some cayenne pepper for some heat, a small can of tomato paste, a little more of the basil, oregano and thyme. Also salt and pepper were needed. The family LOVES this and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this Cioppino and it was good. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shan gie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Made this yesterday for Good Friday made as written except I used Alskan King crab legs cut into 3 inch pieces, basa fillet chunks, med shrimp instead of clams, cuttlefish,and mussels. Also added more wine and used one one container of chicken broth. I like more wine flavour. Omitted onion as I don't like onions with shellfish. Added more garlic instead. Family loved it and much to my dismay there were no leftovers :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great recipe, thanks. To make it healthy, I don't put any butter, just olive oil. It will be thick enough. As some people suggested, I put less water or no water, I just use water from canned tomatoes. If you are on a budget, you can always do a cheaper version of this soup. Obviously it won't be a true cioppino, but true one requires a lot of expensive seafood. I often use some of those not very expensive seafood mixes from Costco, add some shrimp and couple of scallops and some fish and voila.... I do pay attention to the spices though. That is what makes the soup taste good. Even cheaper version will taste good and if you are on a budget, you can still eat sort of Cioppino as often as you want. Plus, it's super healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
very good, easy, and got rave reviews. I think I'll add some tomato paste or sauce next time, as I like my cioppino a little more tomato-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is the best soup I've ever made. If you can't find all of the fish you can leave out the ones you can't get and this soup is still very good. I used the canned crab meat but I didn't think it added anything so I'll probably leave it out next time. I've only made this soup once because its very expensive with all of the seafood since I don't live on the coast. But it was very worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is so good and 5 star restaurant worthy. Costco has had bags of mixed seafood for the past few months. Since there are just two of us, we use half the bag and freeze the rest for the next time we make this. We have added the fish in the past, but it just broke into pieces and you couldn't really taste the difference. Everything else we keep the same, only changing the quantity. This is so easy to make and looks so impressive! Make sure you have a loaf of fresh bread to sop up the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Simply perfect- yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States