Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Made this yesterday for Good Friday made as written except I used Alskan King crab legs cut into 3 inch pieces, basa fillet chunks, med shrimp instead of clams, cuttlefish,and mussels. Also added more wine and used one one container of chicken broth. I like more wine flavour. Omitted onion as I don't like onions with shellfish. Added more garlic instead. Family loved it and much to my dismay there were no leftovers :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great recipe, thanks. To make it healthy, I don't put any butter, just olive oil. It will be thick enough. As some people suggested, I put less water or no water, I just use water from canned tomatoes. If you are on a budget, you can always do a cheaper version of this soup. Obviously it won't be a true cioppino, but true one requires a lot of expensive seafood. I often use some of those not very expensive seafood mixes from Costco, add some shrimp and couple of scallops and some fish and voila.... I do pay attention to the spices though. That is what makes the soup taste good. Even cheaper version will taste good and if you are on a budget, you can still eat sort of Cioppino as often as you want. Plus, it's super healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
very good, easy, and got rave reviews. I think I'll add some tomato paste or sauce next time, as I like my cioppino a little more tomato-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is the best soup I've ever made. If you can't find all of the fish you can leave out the ones you can't get and this soup is still very good. I used the canned crab meat but I didn't think it added anything so I'll probably leave it out next time. I've only made this soup once because its very expensive with all of the seafood since I don't live on the coast. But it was very worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is so good and 5 star restaurant worthy. Costco has had bags of mixed seafood for the past few months. Since there are just two of us, we use half the bag and freeze the rest for the next time we make this. We have added the fish in the past, but it just broke into pieces and you couldn't really taste the difference. Everything else we keep the same, only changing the quantity. This is so easy to make and looks so impressive! Make sure you have a loaf of fresh bread to sop up the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Simply perfect- yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because it needed some tweeking. If you take a look at the additions below, it is surly a 5 star dish. I added 2 different spices for some heat...cayenne and plain ol'black pepper. very nice! I also added squid rings... lots of leftovers that traveled well to work the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful!! The only changes I made were due to the availability of the seafood. For instance, the shrimp and scallops came in a 1# bag. Also, we used seafood stock instead of chicken broth. The result was amazing! I'm looking forward to leftovers today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wow! Amazing recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
i didn't add muscles, crab, clams or wine. i was more generous with the same spices required and rather than stewed tomatoes used crushed. Both my husband and I loved it, it's a great base idea and permits one to add too it and still have an amazing stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States