Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I expected much more from this. Just OK. I would eat it again, but for the price, probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I served this soup last night at our wine club. (We were tasting Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir) It was the hit of the night! Highly recommend this recipe. I did follow the suggestions though about not as much water, and the addition of the Red Chili Flakes.. Do not hesistate to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was an OMG recipe! The only thing I did differently from the recipe was substitute half of the butter with olive oil. And I used canned lump crabmeat because I ran out of money! I also cut the recipe in half and it was still fabuloso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I made this recipe for friends, but omitted the shrimp because i am allergic, they are still raving about it. It is wonderful. I also served it with garlic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I have made this several times . . . and I usually don't follow it perfectly (sometimes I use different varieties of fish, shellfish, etc), but I do follow pretty much the "base" of the soup with one exception. I add clam juice for some of the liquid. As it stands, it is an excellent entree soup and my family really loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Restaurant quality. ...just a few changes: 1/2 cup olive oil (instead of butter) 1 large onion (instead of 2) 3 cloves of garlic (instead of 2) omitted water used 2 lbs of a frozen seafood medley mix (calamari, cod, shrimp,scallops) 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes added red pepper flakes and salt to taste I followed the same directions and used the rest of the ingredients on the recipe with the changes above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very Good! I also agreed with other reviewers and slightly adjusted the recipe. Used a couple Tbsp of Extra virgin olive oil instead of butter and halved the recipe. Used 1 jumbo can of crushed tomatoes with basil and 1 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes. Didn't add any water, but used 1 bottle of clam juice. Added a tsp of better than bouillon chicken broth for extra flavor. Only had cod, scallops, and crab meat on hand so used that. Cut the scallops into quarters since they were so big. Added celery tops chopped and 2 handfuls of fresh spinach for extra veg. Topped with fresh chopped basil, parmesan cheese and a drizzle of balsamic glaze. Really tasty after these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Absolutely superb! I made it many times and gave the recipe to many of my family and friends. I make the stew in advance, freeze it and just add the seafood when ready to serve it to my guests. I add more garlic, more thyme and basilic,more salt and pepper and some cayenne. I use 2-1/2 bottles of clam juice instead of chicken broth and water. I do not use clams. instead, I add: 2 lbs of large shrimp, 2 lbs of mussels, 1 lb of scallops and 2 lbs of firm white fish(cod,halibut,red snapper). I serve the stew with crusty toasted garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Fabulous!! I did add some red pepper flakes for some kick. Used a bag of frozen mixed seafood (mussels/shrimp/calamari/scallops) from Costco and made this recipe really affordable (I think the bag was $15). Will definitelly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwalker5
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Holy Cow! Winner winner seafood dinner. I did have to add some cayenne pepper for some heat, a small can of tomato paste, a little more of the basil, oregano and thyme. Also salt and pepper were needed. The family LOVES this and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States