Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
way way too much time and way way way too much money for a so so meal with no real substance. do yourself a favor and look up a good seafood gumbo. doubled it and got 1 1/2 gal. left over after party, thinking of freezing some, thickening the base and trying it over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Have made this several times and it is always a hit. I always cut the butter in half, add a whole bottle of wine and a bag of langostino lobster tails. Also have found that using diver scallops cut in half instead of bay scallops keep them from getting chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a very forgiving and flexible recipe.It was one of the few leftovers I've frozen that disappeared within a week anyway. I did make some modifications based on the ingredients I had. I had half a red onion, half a brown onion, and a large shallot. The shallot added that something extra that not only really elevates a dish but also made the house smell great and not fishy. I didn't have cod, so I used frozen salmon filets--OK, but would use cod next time. I had sea scallops, not bay scallops, so cut them in smaller pieces--they have a nice, buttery flavor that bay scallops lack. I didn't have clams or mussels so those were left out also. I froze the leftovers in four separate batches, and on reheating a couple of them, added about a cup of half and half each time. Serve with warm, crusty french bread and salad--super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
When they say 12 servings, believe it. I used 1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes and 14 oz's crushed tomato . I have a vegetarian in the house so I used 2 cups of fish stock instead of chicken broth. I also used i cup of clam juice instead of water. It is delicious and got rave reviews from a picky crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband was so impressed! Changes: I added 1/2 can of a 6 ounce can of tomato paste, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, and a touch of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is absolutely amazing. I did change the butter to 2 tbls of olive oil for a more health conscious meal. I also added chicken chourico just because my kids love it. Thanks for the delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe. I used a 28-ounce can of whole tomatoes that I just squeezed into the stockpot. I also use a bit more seasoning than is called for, especially the garlic. Best of all, before adding the Bay Leaf (or fish, of course), I emulsified the sauce. Absolutely Yummy and Not Intimidating at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I expected much more from this. Just OK. I would eat it again, but for the price, probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I served this soup last night at our wine club. (We were tasting Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir) It was the hit of the night! Highly recommend this recipe. I did follow the suggestions though about not as much water, and the addition of the Red Chili Flakes.. Do not hesistate to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was an OMG recipe! The only thing I did differently from the recipe was substitute half of the butter with olive oil. And I used canned lump crabmeat because I ran out of money! I also cut the recipe in half and it was still fabuloso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States