Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this the other night for dinner and it turned out amazing! I followed advice from a few others and added clam juice, more tomatoes, more wine, and a bit more chicken broth. It smelled fabulous and looked as impressive as it tasted. YUM!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved the recipe and how fast is was to make. Our local Costco (Olympia, WA) sells bags of mixed seafood - shrimp, clams, scallops etc. Instead of buying all the seafood separately just used one of those bags. Thawed it, removed the clams from the already opened shells and rinsed and added it to the soup mixture. Costco also sells frozen cod fillets - thawed a couple of those and cut them up and added it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This soup was delicious !!!! I like the fact that you can modify it and it still tastes sooo good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was great even with the extensive modifications I did to accommodate what I had available. I used a 1 lb bag of medium shrimp with tails off plus a 1 lb mixed bag that included scallops, caramari and shrimp from Trader Joes. I left out the mussels, clams and cod. I added some extra canned crab, used dried parsley instead of fresh and left out the bay leaves. It was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was very good. I added kalamata olives and a glob of anchovy paste. I also used clam juice and roasted stewed tomatoes. I personally am not a huge fan of having whole shells in my stew/cioppino, so I left out the mussels and clams(it also eased up on the price a bit). Next time, I may try adding canned clams. I also had a bit of time, so I simmered the sauce for a couple of hours. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Yum! Tasty and easy to make. I often use the slow cooker and a bag of frozen seafood to make it extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Only make this when you have a lot of company. Makes a HUGE pot. I don't enjoy leftover fish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It's not a bad base. I used seafood stock and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, as well as mussels instead of clams. Also, I used fresh crab that I had cracked, and put in the stew. I would HIGHLY suggest using red wine instead of white. We used white, and it made the sauce so sour, we had to simmer it for an extra two hours as well as add red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was awesome - my whole family loved it! I basically halved the amount of seafood, but couldn't find fresh clams so I increased the mussels. It made enough for a family of four (mom, dad, two nine-year-olds) that we'll have leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great!! I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and my family loved it! The only think I may do next time is add some extra garlic. Very easy and good tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States