Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I tried a few times with butter and once with olive oil. Unlike the majority of reviewers I like butter-base much better. It was kinda watery otherwise. So: I'll stick to the original recipe. Definitely use fish stock instead of water (I use clam juice) or simply add more wine or chicken broth. One of our favorite dishes in the house (when we feel like splurging a little :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
The whole family loved it! I have always wanted to make cioppino but was intimidated. This was worth the expense of all the fresh seafood. I doubled the sauce which was great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Rave reviews from my family. Felt like a restaurant chef. Didn't have mussels, so used clams, scallops, shrimp and lump crab from the can (believe it or not), and it was fabulous. Took hints from others and used clam juice instead of the water, and I also added in a tsp of Old Bay seasoning. The shrimp and scallops cooked really quickly (1 min?) so next time I'll be ready to get the clams in sooner. Threw the lump crab in at the very end just to warm it up. THX for giving me the courage to try a stew I never considered before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Used Halibut instead of cod, and reduced the recipe in 1/2. Everyone loved it. Also, omit the water, and used clam juice in its place. Tasted even better as leftovers, after all of the fish tastes blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe is one of my favorites. It's so easy! To make it even easier, use canned clams. I added a little clam juice to the mix as well. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great recipe, just need rice, or garlic bread and a good glass of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made something similar last weekend and the results from that prompted me as to a few minor changes for this one. I'd use DICED tomato,(it's less liquidy & has alittle more body to it), & add seasonings & 2 cans of chic broth and the wine (no water). Bring to a low boil, then cover and lower heat & simmer for 30 min. While that's simmering, I'd cook the clams in 1 14oz can chick broth & then set aside for later. "Later", after simmering the pot for 30 minutes, I'd add the shrimp and scallops and then the clams including the liquid from that,,,,,cover and continue simmering until shrimps are pink. Then, Stir the pot, recover, and continue simmering a couple more minutes. Then serve with some nice crusty garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Thank you for an excellent recipe. I agree with some changes - no butter no water. Use 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, only 1 can chicken stock, 3 bottles Clam Juice, and a generous pinch of saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good and very easy to prepare but what's best about cioppino are the never ending variations. I added chopped pepper and mushrooms to the onion base. Throw in zucchini and asparagus with the fish to add veggie bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States