Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The BEST soup EVER! Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This dish REALLY is excellent. Very authentic, and simply delicious. I'm probably what you'd call a food snob, as at least half of the things I've tried on this site deserve 3 or fewer stars - that said, this is truly a 5-star dish. The only thing I changed when making this was to use fresh herbs instead of dried. Another suggestion that I think enhances this meal - instead of warm crusty bread, take some sliced sourdough, Italian or french bread, brush lightly with olive oil and grill. The grilled bread is outstanding with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bckt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was very tasty, sophisticated and easy to prepare. My boyfriend was blown away. A few changes (for 4 servings): I used much less butter than recommended and added a tablespoon or so of olive oil. As suggested by users, I used roughly a half bottle of dry white wine, two cans of whole tomatoes (without the tomato sauce), 4 garlic cloves, red chili pepper and extra parsley. Also, I left out the cod because crab legs, bay scallops, mussels, shrimp and clams seemed more fun than plain old cod. Here in California, it's not terribly expensive to buy fresh seafood, although I could only find precooked crab legs. The crab legs make for a dramatic display. Since I detest white wine (rose might have worked though), I served this with a Barolo. It was healthy, delicious, and fun to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Mmm so good! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he devoured it. This is the first time I've cooked with white wine and my head was spinning at the huge selection in the supermarket. I just chose a random $10 one and it turned out great! Instead of adding water I added more of the wine instead. I also served this with plain white rice because my boyfriend prefers rice over bread and I think it made the dish seem more like a complete meal. Thank you for this recipe! It really helped make his birthday special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe! Should be made for anyone who loves seafood. Our modification: used basa fillets rather than cod (couldn't find cod) in large cubes. Was amazing, and will make this again. WARNING: This recipe makes a large quantity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
First time to make cioppino. it was great. I didnt use crab meat. and forgot the clam juice. still turned out great. Cant wait to make it again in the fall and watch some football!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Awesome dish. I used fresh herbs from my garden and instead of the second can of crushed tomatoes I used 3 very large fresh tomatoes (seeded and chopped). I also increased the wine to 2 cups and didn't use any water at all. I used fresh scallops, shrimp, salmon and mussels and agree that the mussels should go in 5 minutes before the rest of the fish. Also used 1/2 chicken and 1/2 vegetable broth with a two tablespoons of fish sauce and a sprinkle of dried chilies to bump up the flavor and give it a little punch. Fished it off with freshly chopped basil. DIVINE! Serves 6 easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is an amazing dish! My husband made this for me and my whole family last night for my b-day dinner. Everyone loved it even my two 10 yr olds,7 yr old and 2 yr old! It's not cheap but it did feed all 14 of us! We used the original recipe, don't mess wit perfection. He only doubled the garlic and shell fish, even threw 2 lobster tails in there because of the size of our fam. Delish!! We are now making this a traditional b-day dinner. Happy B-Day to me!! Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe. Thanks to my hubby for making it happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. Just as good as I used to get at a local restaurant in San Francisco called Scott's. I had never attempted this before so I took some of the suggestions from other reviews and added clam juice and no water. My guest couldn't even believe I whipped it up in so little time. Very impressive and little work. Just make sure you have lots of napkins for the guest. I put in baby lobster tales and they were a bit of a challenge but worth it. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States