Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used a bag of Costco frozen shellfish-mussels, shrimp, scallops and calamari. It was about 2.5 pounds, so I cut the other ingredients in half. Added a little extra chicken stock and a couple of tablespoons of oyster sauce instead of water. Also added a good deal of salt and pepper. This ate much better with a spoon as a soup than with a fork. I'm low carb, so I didn't use bread to sop up the sauce so I got a lot more of the flavor with a spoon. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Don't feel bad if you can't get fresh seafood. Not everyone lives on the coast. Substituted EV olive oil for butter, why butter for a Mediterranean dish? The only thing missing in this recipe is salt salt salt. Add 2 teaspoons of salt. It was bland until I added that. I cooked the broth for about 1 hour 15 minutes before adding the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBanjo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harbor Beach, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cotopaxi, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A very good basic recipe. You can basically use whatever fish/shellfish you want, though it's better to use a firm white fish like halibut or cod. I added a little tomato paste for some depth of flavor, and San Marzano tomatoes. I also added a small shot of Balsamic Vinegar (something my great grandpa always added at the end of his). I grew up with Cioppino, and this recipe is a great launching point for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT! My first time making Cioppini. I added more more tomatoes and their liquid, more chicken broth, onions and garlic so I would have more broth. It was SO good even my (little) kids devoured it! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My husband was absolutely stunned and very pleased with this recipe. The kids and I made him a formal dinner at home with music, candlelight, and flowers. This was his bday dinner. My girls participated in the cooking and were very happy to see Daddy so pleased! The girls asked for seconds meaning that these fussy eaters gave this recipe 5stars. I did modify...I used no water...instead clam juice...seafood brooth instead of chicken..instead of cooking the brooth for 30 min I simmered for 1 hour as reviews suggested. Its a great dinner to impress guests and to serve on special occassions. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this today and it was wonderful! I used a combination bag of fish from Costco.It had scallops,shrimp,mussels,and calamari.I added a pound of tilapia because I had it. It was very flavorful without being spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is the best cioppino I have ever had and I have ordered cioppino a lot. The sauce was fabulous. I made the sauce a day ahead. At the dinner party I just had to heat the sauce up and throw in all the fish. Everyone loved it. In fact, no one talked for about 5 minutes, they were loving the cioppino so much. This is a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The BEST soup EVER! Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This dish REALLY is excellent. Very authentic, and simply delicious. I'm probably what you'd call a food snob, as at least half of the things I've tried on this site deserve 3 or fewer stars - that said, this is truly a 5-star dish. The only thing I changed when making this was to use fresh herbs instead of dried. Another suggestion that I think enhances this meal - instead of warm crusty bread, take some sliced sourdough, Italian or french bread, brush lightly with olive oil and grill. The grilled bread is outstanding with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bckt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States