Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The recipe looked interesting and was fun to try. I'm Italian, grew up with Italian cooks and Italian cooking, and I travel to Italy - yet I've never heard of this! Curiosity hooked me right away. It's not bad - it comes together quickly and certainly is easy enough to make. It's kind of a cross between chocolate pudding and hot cocoa. Having said that, however, the consistency is odd, like it can't make its mind up between the two. In addition, it's not sweet enough and is rather flat tasting - it could definitely benefit from a little extra sugar, a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt. The concept was intriguing, and Hubs and I did enjoy it, but not enough to make again. I guess we'd prefer either a cup of hot chocolate or a dish of chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought this recipe looked interesting and so I decided to try it. It had the consistency of a non-watery hot chocolate and not a pudding like the picture depicted. Although, it was nice and chocolaty, as is, it is like drinking a cup of melted bitter sweet chocolate with milk. So, if I made again I would definitely add some extra sugar a teaspoon at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is WONDERFUL hot chocolate! It reminds me of the hot chocolate that they drink in the movie Chocolat. It is very thick and creamy but that's why I like it. I added three TBLS of sugar because I like my chocolate sweeter. It was the perfect amount as suggested by another reviewer. I also added two dashes of Cayanne pepper, and three dashes of cinnamon to give it that little extra kick of heat and to cut the chocolaty flavor just a bit. It was really good. I know the recipe says it makes two servings but it filled my big mug and I drank it all. If you want that extra creaminess, use either 2% or whole milk. Also, dipping sponge cake in it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I was craving something chocolate-y, but didn't want to fuss with baking something however I wanted something with substance. This did live up to being a pudding-y hot chocolate, and it hit the spot. I followed the suggestions of adding a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla, but in the future I may try adding some cinnamon or cayenne, as one reviewer mentioned. I did increase the sugar to three tablespoons and I thought the level of sweetness was just right, without being overly sweet. I put one mug in the fridge, and let the other cool slightly on the counter. If you want a more liquid-like drink then don't refrigerate, as the texture becomes more pudding-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Ohhhhh soooo gooooood! The funny thing is I don't lke hot chocolate, chocolate milk, or pudding. This is to die for. I bought a case of the actual Italian Ciobar mix before I left Europe and I am slowly going through it. Nothing like attending Carneval in Venice in frigid February while sipping on a cup of this. MUST put whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great. I was longing for that special pudding-y taste of italian hot chocolate and this captured it. I made it with skim milk and it turned out great. Like others, I used 2T sugar and 1/4 t vanilla. Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Just coming from Spain and Italy....We had hot chocolate similar to this while there and we were amazed with this recipe...I don't suggest you do like we did and buy a machine to steam your milk...but it helps.. I do suggest that you add a little more sugar to adjust for your sweet tooth... I think we will add some vanilla next time to experiment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the flavor of this! It was easy and sooo good (I added a little vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe exactly). Next time, I might add a little more cocoa powder and cornstarch. Mine never thickened up. It took about 20 minutes to simmer on low heat, and after I added the cornstarch, I cooked it for another five minutes. When it didn't thicken up, I decided oh well, and drank it anyway. Soooo good! I do wish it was thicker, though. Perhaps it didn't thicken because I used 2% milk... Hmmm. *************Update: I made this recipe again still using 2% milk. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch, and I waited until near the end to add the vanilla and pinch of salt. I also cooked it at a slightly higher temperature. It still took about 20 minutes to cook, but it thickened this time! Actually, it got a little too thick for my enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Made this as the recipe states, but with sugar-free soy milk and drizzled with sweetened condensed milk. This hot drink has a rich, comforting taste and is not sweet. Mine came out thicker than your typical hot chocolate, but not as thick as I had imagined...maybe a touch more cornstarch is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My roommate and I love it. We've used this hot chocolate recipe the last three or four nights in a row. I keep burning my tongue. It's very versatile, you can add as much sugar (or use less) as you see fit. I've taken the liberty of adding in some vanilla extract and quite like the result. Very tasty... I think I'll try some peppermint extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States