Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was great. I was longing for that special pudding-y taste of italian hot chocolate and this captured it. I made it with skim milk and it turned out great. Like others, I used 2T sugar and 1/4 t vanilla. Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Made this as the recipe states, but with sugar-free soy milk and drizzled with sweetened condensed milk. This hot drink has a rich, comforting taste and is not sweet. Mine came out thicker than your typical hot chocolate, but not as thick as I had imagined...maybe a touch more cornstarch is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My roommate and I love it. We've used this hot chocolate recipe the last three or four nights in a row. I keep burning my tongue. It's very versatile, you can add as much sugar (or use less) as you see fit. I've taken the liberty of adding in some vanilla extract and quite like the result. Very tasty... I think I'll try some peppermint extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is very nice for 2 on a cold evening. Different from the usual hot chocolate. Can be sipped, or I prefer using a spoon. Glad I read reviews before I made it--I added 1/2 tsp vanilla, a pinch of salt and a pinch of espresso powder. The flavor would have been flat without these. A squirt of canned whipped cream helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I saw this and thought it would be good to try. I did enjoy it. I really like the thick smoothness. Will try with more sugar next time and I do like the idea of adding vanilla. I topped it with whip cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Ohhhhh soooo gooooood! The funny thing is I don't lke hot chocolate, chocolate milk, or pudding. This is to die for. I bought a case of the actual Italian Ciobar mix before I left Europe and I am slowly going through it. Nothing like attending Carneval in Venice in frigid February while sipping on a cup of this. MUST put whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I don't really know what I think of this. It's different. Good but I'm not sure how often I'd drink it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
exactly like I had in Venice!!! Fabulous and can always add more sugar if you prefer sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I was craving something chocolate-y, but didn't want to fuss with baking something however I wanted something with substance. This did live up to being a pudding-y hot chocolate, and it hit the spot. I followed the suggestions of adding a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla, but in the future I may try adding some cinnamon or cayenne, as one reviewer mentioned. I did increase the sugar to three tablespoons and I thought the level of sweetness was just right, without being overly sweet. I put one mug in the fridge, and let the other cool slightly on the counter. If you want a more liquid-like drink then don't refrigerate, as the texture becomes more pudding-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Just coming from Spain and Italy....We had hot chocolate similar to this while there and we were amazed with this recipe...I don't suggest you do like we did and buy a machine to steam your milk...but it helps.. I do suggest that you add a little more sugar to adjust for your sweet tooth... I think we will add some vanilla next time to experiment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States