Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I saw this and thought it would be good to try. I did enjoy it. I really like the thick smoothness. Will try with more sugar next time and I do like the idea of adding vanilla. I topped it with whip cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Ohhhhh soooo gooooood! The funny thing is I don't lke hot chocolate, chocolate milk, or pudding. This is to die for. I bought a case of the actual Italian Ciobar mix before I left Europe and I am slowly going through it. Nothing like attending Carneval in Venice in frigid February while sipping on a cup of this. MUST put whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I don't really know what I think of this. It's different. Good but I'm not sure how often I'd drink it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
exactly like I had in Venice!!! Fabulous and can always add more sugar if you prefer sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I was craving something chocolate-y, but didn't want to fuss with baking something however I wanted something with substance. This did live up to being a pudding-y hot chocolate, and it hit the spot. I followed the suggestions of adding a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla, but in the future I may try adding some cinnamon or cayenne, as one reviewer mentioned. I did increase the sugar to three tablespoons and I thought the level of sweetness was just right, without being overly sweet. I put one mug in the fridge, and let the other cool slightly on the counter. If you want a more liquid-like drink then don't refrigerate, as the texture becomes more pudding-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Just coming from Spain and Italy....We had hot chocolate similar to this while there and we were amazed with this recipe...I don't suggest you do like we did and buy a machine to steam your milk...but it helps.. I do suggest that you add a little more sugar to adjust for your sweet tooth... I think we will add some vanilla next time to experiment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummmm! This is similar to the hot chocolate I drank in Spain. Rich, thick, and chocolatey, it is often accompanied by churros or other sweet breads. It's like a pudding, but drinkable. This recipe is super easy to make. I mixed the ingredients in the pot, added milk, turned on the heat, and whisked. Done in five minutes. Vary the sweetness to your taste. Highly recommended, especially on a winter's evening or to enjoy with friends who have returned from Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I liked the recipe but I agree it was a little flat so I added a pinch of salt, a little vanilla, more sugar & a little more cornstarch if you like it a little thicker. A pinch of cayenne might be good as well. This reminds me of Starbucks chantico that they had out for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought this recipe looked interesting and so I decided to try it. It had the consistency of a non-watery hot chocolate and not a pudding like the picture depicted. Although, it was nice and chocolaty, as is, it is like drinking a cup of melted bitter sweet chocolate with milk. So, if I made again I would definitely add some extra sugar a teaspoon at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The recipe looked interesting and was fun to try. I'm Italian, grew up with Italian cooks and Italian cooking, and I travel to Italy - yet I've never heard of this! Curiosity hooked me right away. It's not bad - it comes together quickly and certainly is easy enough to make. It's kind of a cross between chocolate pudding and hot cocoa. Having said that, however, the consistency is odd, like it can't make its mind up between the two. In addition, it's not sweet enough and is rather flat tasting - it could definitely benefit from a little extra sugar, a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt. The concept was intriguing, and Hubs and I did enjoy it, but not enough to make again. I guess we'd prefer either a cup of hot chocolate or a dish of chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States