Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I tried this this afternoon and instead of using cocoa which I thought would be a bit bitter I used Swiss Miss instead. I find this it delicious and would definitely make this again. Since the weather here in the U P of Michigan has turned much cooler, I can see me having this quite often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This recipe was a fast favorite with my family! We were a little skeptical if we would like the thickness, but one sip and we were hooked. I've made this at least twice a week since finding this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I was dying for a chocolate fix and this did it. I made it for my friend's and myself and just loved it. I followed other reviewer's advice and added a splash of vanilla and some extra sugar, according to my taste. Next time I will try it with Cinnamon and Cayenne to see what that gives me. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea.Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm only giving this 3 stars because I had to make a few changes to get this to be good, and it never got to "pudding-like" consistency. It was thicker than regular hot cocoa, but nowhere near the consistency of pudding. I used whole milk, increased the sugar to 3 Tbsp, added a pinch of salt, about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and a couple pinches of cinnamon. topped with a marshmallow. It was great with the changes. Very rich. I don't know why I"m drinking hot cocoa in July when the temp outside is over 100 degrees....As written, this would be really chocolaty and pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I increased the sugar so that it equalled the amount of cocoa, I reduced the amount of cornstarch by half because I did not want it to pudding thickness - rather, I just wanted a creamy hot choc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Like the inside of chocolate lava cake! Needs a bit more sugar and a splash of vanilla. Made mine in the microwave: once the milk/cocoa/sugar was warm added the cornstarch and cooked at 30 second intervals until pudding like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Mmmmm... quite a nice treat! After reading the reviews, I made my own variation: A little less sugar, a touch of vanilla, and a (big) splash of International Delights Hazelnut Coffee Creamer. I always think you can't beat the combination of hazelnut and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of salt. This was the best cup of hot chocolate goodness that I have ever had. Thick and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is WONDERFUL hot chocolate! It reminds me of the hot chocolate that they drink in the movie Chocolat. It is very thick and creamy but that's why I like it. I added three TBLS of sugar because I like my chocolate sweeter. It was the perfect amount as suggested by another reviewer. I also added two dashes of Cayanne pepper, and three dashes of cinnamon to give it that little extra kick of heat and to cut the chocolaty flavor just a bit. It was really good. I know the recipe says it makes two servings but it filled my big mug and I drank it all. If you want that extra creaminess, use either 2% or whole milk. Also, dipping sponge cake in it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the flavor of this! It was easy and sooo good (I added a little vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe exactly). Next time, I might add a little more cocoa powder and cornstarch. Mine never thickened up. It took about 20 minutes to simmer on low heat, and after I added the cornstarch, I cooked it for another five minutes. When it didn't thicken up, I decided oh well, and drank it anyway. Soooo good! I do wish it was thicker, though. Perhaps it didn't thicken because I used 2% milk... Hmmm. *************Update: I made this recipe again still using 2% milk. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch, and I waited until near the end to add the vanilla and pinch of salt. I also cooked it at a slightly higher temperature. It still took about 20 minutes to cook, but it thickened this time! Actually, it got a little too thick for my enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States