Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I tried this this afternoon and instead of using cocoa which I thought would be a bit bitter I used Swiss Miss instead. I find this it delicious and would definitely make this again. Since the weather here in the U P of Michigan has turned much cooler, I can see me having this quite often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This recipe was a fast favorite with my family! We were a little skeptical if we would like the thickness, but one sip and we were hooked. I've made this at least twice a week since finding this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I was dying for a chocolate fix and this did it. I made it for my friend's and myself and just loved it. I followed other reviewer's advice and added a splash of vanilla and some extra sugar, according to my taste. Next time I will try it with Cinnamon and Cayenne to see what that gives me. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea.Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm only giving this 3 stars because I had to make a few changes to get this to be good, and it never got to "pudding-like" consistency. It was thicker than regular hot cocoa, but nowhere near the consistency of pudding. I used whole milk, increased the sugar to 3 Tbsp, added a pinch of salt, about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and a couple pinches of cinnamon. topped with a marshmallow. It was great with the changes. Very rich. I don't know why I"m drinking hot cocoa in July when the temp outside is over 100 degrees....As written, this would be really chocolaty and pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I increased the sugar so that it equalled the amount of cocoa, I reduced the amount of cornstarch by half because I did not want it to pudding thickness - rather, I just wanted a creamy hot choc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Like the inside of chocolate lava cake! Needs a bit more sugar and a splash of vanilla. Made mine in the microwave: once the milk/cocoa/sugar was warm added the cornstarch and cooked at 30 second intervals until pudding like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Mmmmm... quite a nice treat! After reading the reviews, I made my own variation: A little less sugar, a touch of vanilla, and a (big) splash of International Delights Hazelnut Coffee Creamer. I always think you can't beat the combination of hazelnut and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a pinch of salt. This was the best cup of hot chocolate goodness that I have ever had. Thick and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is WONDERFUL hot chocolate! It reminds me of the hot chocolate that they drink in the movie Chocolat. It is very thick and creamy but that's why I like it. I added three TBLS of sugar because I like my chocolate sweeter. It was the perfect amount as suggested by another reviewer. I also added two dashes of Cayanne pepper, and three dashes of cinnamon to give it that little extra kick of heat and to cut the chocolaty flavor just a bit. It was really good. I know the recipe says it makes two servings but it filled my big mug and I drank it all. If you want that extra creaminess, use either 2% or whole milk. Also, dipping sponge cake in it is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the flavor of this! It was easy and sooo good (I added a little vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe exactly). Next time, I might add a little more cocoa powder and cornstarch. Mine never thickened up. It took about 20 minutes to simmer on low heat, and after I added the cornstarch, I cooked it for another five minutes. When it didn't thicken up, I decided oh well, and drank it anyway. Soooo good! I do wish it was thicker, though. Perhaps it didn't thicken because I used 2% milk... Hmmm. *************Update: I made this recipe again still using 2% milk. I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch, and I waited until near the end to add the vanilla and pinch of salt. I also cooked it at a slightly higher temperature. It still took about 20 minutes to cook, but it thickened this time! Actually, it got a little too thick for my enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States