Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I will definatelly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
YUM! I put in 3 Tbsp sugar instead of the 1 1/2 the recipe calls for and added a splash of vanilla extract and a splash of peppermint extract. The only thing that could have made this better would have been if I had any whipped cream to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was tough since I thought it was a 2 star & hubby gave it a 4 star. Does take time because of the slow simmer to make & you need to love chocolate. I guess I expected something different that what it turned out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I enjoyed this - it's a rich chocolaty cross between a drink and a pudding. My husband didn't care for it; he like drinks that are more liquid, and found this unpleasant. So it really boils down to the consistencies you're willing to experiment with. If you do make it, up the sugar to 3 T. and add a bit of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
We also added vanilla and salt and did 3 tbsp of sugar. We were a little impatient waiting for it to cool down so we could try it so we added a bit of cold milk to our cups. It was still plenty thick and had more of a dark chocolate taste to it. We'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We didn't like this at all. It has the same texture and taste of chocolate gravy. I was expecting thick and creamy but this was almost a pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Thanks so much for posting this recipe. This is the type of Hot Chocolate that they serve in Sicily. When I visit, I always have to go to the store and buy large quantities to take back home. Now I don't have to - THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I added 3 tabls of sugar and a capfull of whipped cream vodka and a little vanilla. We both thought it was a decadent cup of hot chocolate! Easy way to drink your dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Mmm good! I tried this on the stove and in the microwave, and the microwave version was smoother and less fuss. I whisked the dry ingredients in my batter bowl, whisked in the smaller amount of liquid until smooth, then whisked in the larger amount of liquid. Cook on high 1 1/2 minute, stir, and repeat 3 times. Do use a batter bowl for cooking as you want it to come to a rolling boil, and it foams up. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla after cooking. I used 3 Tbs sugar, 2 Tbs hazelnut creamer instead of the smaller amount of liquid, and the 1/2 txp vanilla. Was scrumptious, took only 5 minutes, and only had one bowl to wash. What could be better than that? A very small scoop of vanilla ice cream or whipped cream on top makes this very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I tried this this afternoon and instead of using cocoa which I thought would be a bit bitter I used Swiss Miss instead. I find this it delicious and would definitely make this again. Since the weather here in the U P of Michigan has turned much cooler, I can see me having this quite often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States