Cioccolata Calda (Hot Chocolate Italian-Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I've made this several times now and the family loves it! They especially like to eat it frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Was essentially hot dark/butter chocolate pudding in a cup. I made this on a cold snowy day for my family plus a handful of kids from our street - sure that they would appreciate a thick, rich treat after shoveling snow. Much to my disappointment, nobody liked it. Despite putting equal amounts of cocoa powder and sugar in, it was too bitter. After pouring it into cups, I refrigerated the remaining "hot cocoa" and my husband who loves dark chocolate later ate it as pudding, but even he said it wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe! I also tweaked it by addding more sugar and a bit of vamilla extract. One thing to note: the mixture must come to a boil after the cornstarch slurry is added or it will not achieve full thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was really good! I tripled the recipe & added about a Tbsp of cinnamon & a little more cornstarch than the recipe called for (wanted it on the thicker side). It reminds me of a drink I've had in Mexico (champurrado??). YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is now my new favorite hot cocoa. O had a killer chocolatecraving one night and this hit it. I added 1extra tsp. Of sugar dash of salt, some vanilla and some cayenne.. I will make it for everyone else next time.no halfed it and was perfect for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was amazing!!! I added about 2tsp to it and like suggested a dash of salt, also I put in 2tsp of peanut butter like a different hot chocolate mix said. I ended up being a perfect mix! After putting it in a cup I put on a bunch of mini marshmallows then mixed up butter and brown sugar as a topper instead of chocolate syrup or caramel. Great recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a very good recipe, and people need to realize that the quality of their cocoa choice will give the quality of the drink. Find a very good quality baking cocoa like Droste, Guittard, etc - aim for a dark, dutched cocoa (even Hershey's has come out with one now with European on it). They make better drinking cocoas as they are less bitter to the palate. Type of milk will also change the outcome -- I enjoy 2 per cent milk since I'm watching calories. Whole milk is much better actually. Options that can go with this: vanilla extract; more chocolate flavor with whisking in 2 tbsp semi-sweet choco chips; whisk in a tbsp creamy or crunchy peanut butter; stir in 1 tbsp of heavy cream; stir in some honey for the sweetener; brown sugar instead of white sugar; add in some mint flavoring or crushed mint candies; and so forth. It is a wonderful base as is, but variety is easy with this good foundation and the texture is pleasant instead of too thick. My kids also love it. Can be cooked in the microwave, but have to stir very often and can boil over if not a huge bowl to make it in :-) ENJOY!! Great for dipping graham crackers, shortbread cookies, or cake doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I live in Europe and this is a great recipe for the type of hot chocolate served in restaurants here. Expect it to be thick and, after boiling several minutes, very hot. I like to eat it with a spoon. Delicious and warming on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States