Cinnasweet Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I wish I had paid more attention to the reviews! (There were only 2 of them when I made this recipe.) The oven temp on this recipe is obviously way too high, especially compared to other toasted pumpkin seed recipes. That should have thrown a red flag for me, but I didn't trust my instincts, and instead followed the recipe, only to end up with burned seeds. Too bad, I really liked the idea of a sweet alternative to a seasonal favorite. Maybe I'll try again next year with a 275 degree oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great recipe, thanks! I followed the recipe to a T, except, after reading the reviews, I baked in 7 minute intervals, instead of 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe is really good, but I agree completely with the previous reviewer. DO NOT BAKE SEEDS FOR AN HOUR. Mine needed no more than 25 minutes. The best thing to do is just check on them every ten minutes. Other than that, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made two types of pumpkin seeds this morning--this one and the Spiced Pumpkin Seeds on this site. We prefer these seeds because it has that salty/sweet thing going on. But I do have a couple problems with the recipe. First, be sure to to use a dark pan. I used one dark pan and one light colored metal pan, and the dark one definitely browned the seeds better. Second, way too much butter--the seeds were seriously swimming in it; I would cut it in half next time. Lastly, the temperature is too high--I ended up cooking mine for 1 hour at 300. I did end up having to break them apart after I pulled them out because they stuck together like peanut brittle (although not quite as hard). But their redeeming quality is they actually taste good--although now I'm dealing with little greasy fingers! UPDATE 10/09: Made these again. This time I cooked @ 300 for 45 minutes. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I don't like roasted pumpkin seeds because of the texture of the outer shell but my husband does so i tried this recipe this year and it is wonderful! after reading the previous posts i decided to follow the directions exactly with the only change being the cooking temperature. I baked them at 250 for the first 30 minutes and 350 for the last 30 minutes. they taste like a seasonal candy and i don't even notice the texture of the outer shell. This is a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Hi Cathy - I don't know if there is a misprint in your recipe, but I followed the cooking instructions to the letter and ended up with charred pumpkin seeds. Did you mean to recommend an hour of cooking time? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I used 1 cup of seeds and cut the other ingredients by 1/2. I also reduced the cooking time and kept an eye of them while they were cooking. I made 3 different pumpkin seed recipes and this one was my favorite. They taste a little like carmel pop corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
What a disapointment! They were dripping with margarine and again, mine were burned- and I really watched them. I think the oven temp is too high. Anyway, I won't be wasting my time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniemac7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Loved it! I made these this morning after carving our pumpkins last night. I did as another user said and limited the time to 7 minutes each time instead of 15, and also used wax paper on the pan...turned out great!! Thanx so much for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I used butter instead of margarine and cut the amount to 1/4 cup. I used a Pampered Chef cinnamon sprinkles and wished I had used more. My husband and I thought they turned out delicious. A very tasty and addicting snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States