Cinnamon-Topped Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I prepared these just as the recipe specified and I couldn't be more pleased. I'm sure I chose this recipe to begin with because of the buttermilk - I tend to love any batter, be it cakes, muffins or breads, that includes it. There's just something about buttermilk that seems to guarantee a moist and tender result. That was the case here too. They're a lovely, light and moist muffin, with a pleasant combination of sugar and spice that contrasts perfectly with the tart rhubarb. I liked the brown sugar here, which made these a rich beige in color and gave them just the slightest caramel-y, or butterscotch-y hint of flavor. I particularly liked the topping, which a friend introduced me to many years ago - she topped her banana bread with it! It's buttery, cinnamon-y and a little crunchy, a nice change from the typical streusel that includes flour. These muffins, while nicely rounded, don't rise terribly high, which I actually liked because the topping stayed put and covered the top of the muffins. I baked these in paper liners for 18 minutes - they were perfectly done and I had no problems with the muffins sticking to the liners. I had no issues with these at all, and would not do anything differently with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I LOVED this recipe, the taste was great and the muffin was moist enough. I used about half of the topping though.. I've also made different variations of this with apples, cranberries, etc. The basic batter fits really well with any addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My wife made these muffins the other night and they were fantastic. What was particularly good about them was the contrast between the tartness of the rhubarb and the sweetness of the muffin. Best hot out of the oven, but wonderful for days after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
A great way to use fresh rhubarb - and this recipe does make lots of muffins, so I froze some for later consumption. In place of the buttermilk, I used 1 tbsp of white vinegar, and filled to one cup with 2 % milk. I appreciate the recipe, Joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made this recipe and gave some to a few of my neighbors and everyone LOVED them! The brown sugar base is a really great combination with the cinnamon and rhubarb. Warning...you may not be able to stop eating these!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Both of my young kids loved these muffins, as did the wife and myself. I'm curious about making muffins with a more prevalent rhubarb flavor, so next time I may add more rhubarb to the mix, or cut back slightly on the brown sugar and cinnamon. I'd suggest a few extra minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love to bake but don't like overly sweet desserts. So, I used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Added the topping to 1/2 and left the other 1/2 plain; prefer the plain so the tart taste of the rhubarb really shines! Very moist, very flavourful and perfect for a snack any time of the day. Thanks for a great recipe that allows me to use up my fresh rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
A very delicious muffin and moist too. I did bake it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These muffins are great! The topping really makes them. I threw in some strawberries and put finely chopped walnuts in the topping. I have made them twice and shared them with friends both times. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I am always looking for new rhubarb recipes and this one is a keeper. My family really enjoyed this recipe--even my young children who aren't crazy about rhubarb. The topping really "makes" the recipe. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States