Cinnamon-Topped Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My nine year old takes turns with his classmates bringing community snack to school each day. We try to provide something that reminds his friends that foods can be nutritional AND yummy. To this end, I did make a couple of previously mentioned changes. I used a combination of white flour, wheat flour, and flaxseed meal. I also used skim milk/vinegar instead of buttermilk, unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and an additional 3/4 cup of rhubarb. They turned out moist, tart, sweet and delicious! These have now beat out my kid's previous favorite, zucchini chocolate chip muffins. This recipe also provided the additional benefit of teaching his classmates about a seasonal, locally grown vegetable they may not have known about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
lovely texture and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
perfect!! just like my mom made when i was little. the only thing i would change is I would add more rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love to bake but don't like overly sweet desserts. So, I used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Added the topping to 1/2 and left the other 1/2 plain; prefer the plain so the tart taste of the rhubarb really shines! Very moist, very flavourful and perfect for a snack any time of the day. Thanks for a great recipe that allows me to use up my fresh rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These are wonderful!!! I tossed in some strawberries chopped pretty small and replaced 1/2 of the oil with applesauce. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLMcKay3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
just fantastic- have made this numerous times and had a friend say that these were the best muffins she has ever had!- and i agree with her! thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't have fresh rhubarb (it's January in Canada), so I used frozen. I didn't thaw it first, and the texture and shape of the muffins were excellent! I'm sure they'd be even better with fresh rhubarb. I didn't have buttermilk so I thinned out sour cream with a bit of milk, and I used 1/3 c applesauce and 1/3 cup vegetable oil. Delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I LOVED this recipe, the taste was great and the muffin was moist enough. I used about half of the topping though.. I've also made different variations of this with apples, cranberries, etc. The basic batter fits really well with any addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
'Tis the season for rhubarb! These muffins were so moist and delicious! They did appear to sink a bit, but it was actually the topping that had melted into the muffin. I liked it because there was a gooey surprise in the middle. Not a strong rhubarb flavor, but so sweet, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made this into 2 loaves which turned out nice and moist. Next time I will add more rhubarb and chop it by hand and not use an electric chopper. I will also use 1/4 cup less sugar. I found the loaves to be too sweet and the wonderful tartness of rhubarb was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States