Cinnamon-Topped Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
As noted by others, these required about 20 minutes, or slightly longer to cook. They stuck to the well-greased muffin tins... a definite drawback. I think the sticking was caused by the brown sugar topping sinking to the bottom and melting into a syrupy mess, and that the recipe would be a lot better if the rhubarb were increased to 3 cups, and the brown sugar used in the muffin batter was decreased to 1 or 1-1/4 cups.. it was way too sweet when made as directed, and the rhubarb flavor was lost. Don't expect these to rise to pointy-topped muffins. They are flat, as shown in the pictures. I'd also suggest using a more traditional crumb topping, if using one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Yummy muffin - even my three year old daughter loved these! The crunchy topping is sooo good. I used frozen rhubarb, which worked out well - next time I will add more as others have suggested and make sure it is more finely chopped. I greased my muffin tin, but these still stuck to the bottom - I would recommend baking for the full 20 minutes and let them cool in the pan for about 10 minutes before removing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Update: These are a 5 with the following changes: Topping - only use 1 tbsp butter, 1/3 cup sugar, and 1 tsp cinnamon. It makes a lighter topping which works much better. Also, they take 20-22 minutes to cook and leave in the pan for 10 minutes to cool. First Review: These are very good, however, next time I won't use the topping. It seemed very heavy and sunk. I didn't use all of it, but would have preferred to not have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Loved it, loved it, loved it.... I took others suggestions and added 3 cups of rhubarb instead of 2 cups and put half oil/half apple sauce. So moist and delicious! Next time I will put 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour instead of all white and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I love this recipe. I made this last year when Rhubarb was abundant and I made it exactly as suggested. Today however I was in more of a strawberry rhubarb mood, and we made this without the topping (I ran out of butter!) and with half rhubarb and half strawberries, and they are fabulous. Such a good recipe that can easily be modified for what you have on hand! I doubt that our 2 dozen muffins will make it through the day! I can't keep the kids out of them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used 1/4 sugar and 1/2 cinnamin called for on the topping and the muffin was still quite sweet. They "tasted like more" though the rhubarb was somewhat hidden by the sugar. Also, muffins were difficult to remove from greased tins. Very moist even two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These are really good. But not quite the breakfast muffin I had hoped for. These are really more of a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These were amazing and stood up to a few more healthful tweaks. I redured the topping by half, used 2 egg whites rather than a whole egg, replaced a cup of flour with whole wheat flour, replaced over half the oil with applesauce and reduced the brown sugar by about a quarter. I love how these allow you to taste the rhubarb rather than sweeten everything too much. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent! Light, moist, and super tasty. I would add a tad more rhubarb next time, but no complaints here. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great! Turned our moist and delicious. I agree with other reviewers - will add more rhubarb next time. I started out with 4 cups of chopped rhubarb. Once I chopped in finely with the electric chopper, I ended up with 2 cups finely chopped. Will add at least another cup finely chopped next time. Also, I didn't have buttermilk. Instead, I mixed 1 Cup of milk with 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice. Let it stand for 10 mins for the milk to curdle. Used that instead of buttermilk. Delicious! Will definitely make again. Would be great with other fruit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States