Cinnamon-Topped Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
My husband and I loved these muffins. Made them a little healthier by subtituting applesauce for oil, adding 1/2 c more rhubarb, and doing the topping a little differently: sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top and then just did a little butter non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These turned out great! I always sub vinegar and milk for buttermilk. Made them ahead for 4th of July weekend and froze them. Everyone loved them. My only complaint would be they were pretty small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I thought these were great. I substituted apple sauce for the oil since I didn't have any and used vinegar+milk instead of buttermilk, again since I didn't have any. Added some chopped walnuts to the topping. They were moist and had the nice tang from the rhubarb. My friends loved them. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are so yummy. I didn't change a thing. I might consider adding blueberries next time, but this was the perfect sweet/tart mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We used what we had so we made the following substitutions: 1 cup of half and half instead of buttermilk; 2 of the cups of flour we used whole wheat flour; 12 packets of Splenda instead of a 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is a very nice muffin! A good way to use rhubarb. I found that the recipe did not seem to yield 24 muffins, but more than 12, maybe 18? I did a combination of regular and mini muffins so I can't quite judge the quantity. I decreased the oil to 1/2 cup and the sugar in the muffins to about 3/4 cup. With the sugar on top, I wouldn't like it with any more sugar in the muffin. I also added a bit more rhubarb. I was a little sceptical about only 1 tsp baking soda for the amount of muffins, but with the buttermilk (in my case- lemon juice added to milk) did a great job. They rose wonderfully, more than many other muffin recipes I make. The muffins are moist and yummy. My kids loved them and so do I! I made two batches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
BF and I love these! They turned out exceptionally well - probably my new favorite recipe to make with rhubarb! That being said, I would suggest increasing the amount of rhubarb, probably to at least 2.5 cups to get more rhubarb taste. These muffins are perfectly moist and tender. I loved how beautifully they baked - they are WONDERFUL with the topping, which was excellent and so easy to make. I was SO pleased with the results and cannot wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I prepared these just as the recipe specified and I couldn't be more pleased. I'm sure I chose this recipe to begin with because of the buttermilk - I tend to love any batter, be it cakes, muffins or breads, that includes it. There's just something about buttermilk that seems to guarantee a moist and tender result. That was the case here too. They're a lovely, light and moist muffin, with a pleasant combination of sugar and spice that contrasts perfectly with the tart rhubarb. I liked the brown sugar here, which made these a rich beige in color and gave them just the slightest caramel-y, or butterscotch-y hint of flavor. I particularly liked the topping, which a friend introduced me to many years ago - she topped her banana bread with it! It's buttery, cinnamon-y and a little crunchy, a nice change from the typical streusel that includes flour. These muffins, while nicely rounded, don't rise terribly high, which I actually liked because the topping stayed put and covered the top of the muffins. I baked these in paper liners for 18 minutes - they were perfectly done and I had no problems with the muffins sticking to the liners. I had no issues with these at all, and would not do anything differently with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States