Cinnamon-Swirl Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made a half recipe of this--one loaf. I used my KitchenAid mixer to make this recipe. I used warm buttermilk instead of water or plain milk (if you add the 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup water=one cup buttermilk) and proofed they yeast with the sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the butter, potatoes, raisins and flour. I needed a touch more flour to get the dough into a solid ball. I switched to my dough hook and kneaded the dough with the hook for five minutes. I set the dough ball to rise in a greased plastic bowl on a warm heating pad, covered with saran wrap, for an hour. I then rolled it out, spread the butter on the bread, then sprinkled the sugar and cinnamon (I doubled the filling--it seemed like I had a lot of dough and not enough filling) over the butter and rolled the dough up and smushed the ends in, then set it in a greased loaf pan. I covered my loaf with plastic wrap and set it in the fridge overnight. This morning, I took my loaf out and let it sit on a warm heating pad for an hour or so to rise again before baking it. Just under 30 minutes baking at 350 degrees was just right fgr me. We really liked this bread, I think the mashed potatoes were really what made this bread good, combined with the buttermilk I added. I'm glad I doubled the filling. As is, it really would not have been enough. Nothing of this bread remains, my husband and kids ate it all so I would say that this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
When I first read the recipe and the list of ingredients I was a bit put off by the potato. However, this bread is moist, sweet and all around yummy. I made some slight modifications to suit my dietary needs. I added 1/3 cp splenda baking sugar instead of real sugar and I added 6 tbs apple sauce instead of margarine listed. I still ended up with a absolutely wonderful bread I am proud to serve to friends and family. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
yummy!! I made pretty much as indicated. Used golden raisins instead of the dark kind. Mine baked for 40 minutes, and I put foil over the top for the last 10 or so to avoid over-browning. Not sure why it says this recipe can be ready in 1 hr 10 min, because it took me about 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had never made bread with potatoes before. I found the potatoes gave the bread a nice “meaty” texture to the bread that was very satisfying. The flavor is very good with the right amount of sweetness, however next time I would add extra cinnamon – just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this bread! I only had one loaf pan, so I did one loaf in that pand and one free-form loaf... it turned out great! My only advice is to make sure you roll it tight. I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This bread recipe is very good. The only things I did different was before I did anything , I soaked the raisins in boiling water a few minutes, then drained them to plump them up. And also when the dough was all mixed I put it in the fridge to slow rise and develope its flavor for about 6 hours. Then I just took it out and went on to the 2nd rise. This Bread Is GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
THE BEST RAISIN BREAD EVER!!! This was my first time making any sort of bread and it came out awesome and delicious! The sweetness was perfect and i added some walnuts because they taste really good! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
needed to cook longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is fantastic. I served it with apple jelly I had just finished canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Worth the work! This is a very tasty recipe, but I will add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States