Cinnamon-Swirl Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
A masterpiece! Very simple to make, and came out of the oven looking beautiful, and smelling great; and the taste was magnificent! I saved about 1 Tbsp of the sugar-cinnamon mixture and sprinkled it on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
When I first read the recipe and the list of ingredients I was a bit put off by the potato. However, this bread is moist, sweet and all around yummy. I made some slight modifications to suit my dietary needs. I added 1/3 cp splenda baking sugar instead of real sugar and I added 6 tbs apple sauce instead of margarine listed. I still ended up with a absolutely wonderful bread I am proud to serve to friends and family. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My favorite yet! I have tried other recipes for raisin bread, but this one is my best yet! Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because the taste and texture were exceptional! Like another review I read, I was skeptical of the potato, but it really made a big difference in my dough from other recipes. I used agave in the dough itself and the only thing I will do different next time is to use probably 1/3 cup sugar (I used regular sugar for the cinnamon swirl) between the 2 loaves instead of the 1/2. It was a little too sweet for me, but absolutely delicious!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
needed to cook longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
yummy!! I made pretty much as indicated. Used golden raisins instead of the dark kind. Mine baked for 40 minutes, and I put foil over the top for the last 10 or so to avoid over-browning. Not sure why it says this recipe can be ready in 1 hr 10 min, because it took me about 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this bread! I only had one loaf pan, so I did one loaf in that pand and one free-form loaf... it turned out great! My only advice is to make sure you roll it tight. I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
light, fluffy and delicious, used golden raisins and craisins, because that is what I had in the pantry, great for breakfast o with coffee or tea, with all the butter it will be a once in a while treat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made a half recipe of this--one loaf. I used my KitchenAid mixer to make this recipe. I used warm buttermilk instead of water or plain milk (if you add the 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup water=one cup buttermilk) and proofed they yeast with the sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the butter, potatoes, raisins and flour. I needed a touch more flour to get the dough into a solid ball. I switched to my dough hook and kneaded the dough with the hook for five minutes. I set the dough ball to rise in a greased plastic bowl on a warm heating pad, covered with saran wrap, for an hour. I then rolled it out, spread the butter on the bread, then sprinkled the sugar and cinnamon (I doubled the filling--it seemed like I had a lot of dough and not enough filling) over the butter and rolled the dough up and smushed the ends in, then set it in a greased loaf pan. I covered my loaf with plastic wrap and set it in the fridge overnight. This morning, I took my loaf out and let it sit on a warm heating pad for an hour or so to rise again before baking it. Just under 30 minutes baking at 350 degrees was just right fgr me. We really liked this bread, I think the mashed potatoes were really what made this bread good, combined with the buttermilk I added. I'm glad I doubled the filling. As is, it really would not have been enough. Nothing of this bread remains, my husband and kids ate it all so I would say that this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was my 1st bread recipe and I tried it the 1st time exactly as written, it was really good. Then I made it again yesterday and added a little vanilla to the mix, more raisins, I dusted the top with cinnamon sugar, and when I rolled it out I added more cinnamon and sugar than called for. It tastes just like the store bought just fresher! Love this recipes!! My family thanks you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States