Cinnamon Swirl Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
OH MY GOODNESS! I cut the recipe in half as I only had one loaf pan. I will be buying another! As Hubby cannot have nuts any more, I replaced the walnuts with raisins that I plumped. He also requested icing on top; so, I used the recipe from Clone of a Cinnabon. Absolutely delicious. 5 STARS ALL THE WAY! Thank you MN Nice for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This cinnamon bread is excellent. I followed the recipe ingredients but made rolls instead of a loaf and added raisins. I LOVE the filling so I doubled the ingredients to satisfy my sweet tooth and I'm glad I did because to my liking there was barely enough to cover both rectangles. I added 1 cup Thomson raisins, soaked for 30 min. in 1/4 cup brandy with a 1/4 tsp sugar sprinkled over them (kills the bitterness) stirring a few times to coat them evenly. The dough is great to work with and not sticky at all. When I sprinkled the raisins over the sugar mix I put a sheet of wax paper to cover it and ran the rolling pin over it lightly a few times to press the mixture into the dough (makes rolling it up easier and less filling leaks out). I rolled it up from the long end and sliced it into 1" pieces and popped them into Pam-sprayed muffin tins. I always brush my rolls with soft butter and sprinkle a little brown sugar over them, about 1/8 tsp on each (to keep some yummy, gooey syrup on the tops). It only took 15 min to turn golden with syrup spread over the tops.Even though I doubled the filling very little of it leaked out. I lifted each to a rack and while still warm I drizzled the tops with basic milk/icing sugar glaze. When they cooled I drizzled a 2nd layer of glaze over the tops as it will not soak into the roll and disappear. Then I ate 4 of them! My goodness, this beautiful bread makes accidental rolls a great mistake. Thank you MN Nice for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Stellar! I didn't have walnuts, and kids don't like them anyway. I just used the cinnamon/sugar mixture and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Awesome recipe for cinnamon swirl bread. Besides being fun to make these loaves were absolutely delicious! I opted to use raisins instead of nuts. I shall use nuts next time, as I will definitely be making this bread on a regular basis! Thank You for such a wonderful recipe! Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent! I could tell from the recipe that there would not be enough filling without the walnuts, and since I planned to omit them, I, too, doubled the cinnamon/sugar mixture. When baked and thickly sliced, the texture of this bread is smooth and soft, the sticky, cinnamon-spicy sweetness oozes out and it creates the perfect ratio of bread to filling. The kids slathered their slices in homemade apple butter a friend gave us for Christmas, but even plain, this stuff is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I've tried this recipe twice and being a very novice breadmaker, I love the end result! I did not have bread flour, so used all purpose flour and did have to let it rise for close to 90 minutes before it had risen enough to almost fill the pan. Very happy with it and my kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I know I have a winning recipe on my hands when my husband and 3 year old start snacking on it as soon as its cool enough to handle and immediatly ask me to make it again soon. This bread turned out so well, just like a cinnamon roll in loaf form. I don't have a bread machine so I did have to adjust the directions for use in my stand mixer. I combined the white sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl and added the yeast to proof. Once proofed I mixed in the eggs and softened butter until the butter was broken up into chunks and the eggs were mixed in. I then added the flour/salt that had already been mixed to combine. I let the dough hook do all the kneading and when finished I lightly oiled the bowl and the top of the dough, covered with plastic wrap and let it rise until doubled. From that point on I followed the recipe except for doubling the sugar/cinnamon part of the filling. I made one loaf with walnuts and one without since my husband isn't crazy about them. We can't wait to try this bread toasted tomorrow morning. The only change I'll make next time is to brush the dough with an egg wash before baking so it comes out nice and glossy. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe is awesome ! I'm new to baking bread but this was easy, came out great and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This made two wonderful loaves of goodness. Next time I will roll the dough tighter, as my bread was rather holey, but this did not affect the flavor or the amount of time it took for the bread to be devoured! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States