Cinnamon Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe is great. I was a little nervous since I don't have a bread machine, but I've learned you can make it without. Here's what I did. 1. Stir yeast in with warm milk and water. 2. I large bowl mix dry ingredients 3. Stir in yeast mixture add egg and butter. 4. Knead, adding a little flour at a time until the dough is smooth and not sticky. (I also kneaded in raisins at this point) 5. Let rise in warm place (covered with damp cloth) 6. When doubled, punch down, and let it rise again. When doubled again, I followed the rest of the recipe instructions. I'm not an experienced bread maker, but it turn out fabulously. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Holy cow! This is a 5 star recipe. It's fantastic. Only changes I made was cutting the recipe in half and using 2-1/2 cups flour. (It made a perfect 1.5 lb. loaf for me.) I was afraid to add 5 cups of flour to my machine and have it rise out of the top because I used my machine for everything. I did not melt the butter either, but used soft butter instead. The other change was my own premix cinnamon sugar recipe I keep in the kitchen at all times. This is a keeper. It makes perfect Cinnamon Swirl Bread as I remember it as a kid. Thanks for the recipe, Peggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Robinsonville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I just sliced one of the loaves and oh my gosh, it is delish! After rolling it up, I put it in the pan and let it rise in the refrigerator overnight. I actually used brown sugar instead of white and increased the amount of cinnamon. Very good bread. I will definitely make this one again! Ok..I made this again 4 days after I made it for the first time. It has been out of the oven 30 minutes and the loaf is half gone. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This really wasn't difficult at all. I've been getting better about bread making, which only makes my self-esteem soar. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for the whole thing. I proofed the yeast in the mixing bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes, then added all the wet ingredients and blended until well-combined. Then, I added the dry ingredients. I had to add a tablespoon of oil to the mixer in order to get the dough to pull together and pull away from the bowl. I ended up using the tailend of the brown sugar I had on hand in place of the white sugar, and just blended in ground cinnamon. After rolling the dough up and placing it in the pan, I took the remainder of the melted butter and brushed the tops of the loaves. After that, it was just waiting for the bread to rise and then baking. I plan on using the loaves over this weekend, one as recipe states with the icing and another for french toast. For those of you who don't have a bread maker, YOU DON'T NEED ONE. Use your Kitchen Aid mixer! It's really simple. EDITED TO ADD: I made this recipe for the third time today and it seems to get easier each time I make it. This makes GREAT french toast, even some of my friends who made this recipe after I raved about it used it for french toast, too. My kids always eat seconds of this bread, however I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBites33
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe. My suggestions: Add about a tablespoon of cinnamon to the dough itself to get more of a cinnamon taste. Add about 1/2 a cup of raisins (per loaf) in the filling along with what the original recipe calls for to make cinnamon raisin swirl bread. The bread was tasty and perfect. Definitely going to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBites33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is the first cinnamon bread I've found that's turned out, and I've tried a few. I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour, since that was all I had. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This bread came out great. I made 3 8x3.5 loafs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Photo by JENROBBINS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Okay, I have give this 5 stars. I thought it was fantastic! I did add more water like others had mentioned. I also added cinnamon to the dough and in the filling and I didn't think it was too much cinnamon. I also added raisins to the filling. I can't imagine NOT having the raisins. I think the glaze was a complete waste of time. I think next if I put a glaze on it, it will be a cream cheese glaze. All in all, the bread turned out B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I would have rated this 5 stars except as written, the dough is much too dry. Luckily I checked on it while it was on the dough cylce in my bread machine because it was obvious I had to toss in another tablespoon of water. Even with that, the finished product was not moist enough. Next time I will definitely increase the amount of liquid by 2 or 3 tablespoons. I also increased the amount of sugar/cinnamon (almost doubled) for the filling. While it was still a little warm I poured the glaze over, sliced it, and served. It was good right away but didn't keep well because it dried out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This bread was great! I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and mixed the dough with my dough hook as always, then let it rise for an hour. My only suggestion is adding about twice the filling to the center, both for extra taste and to give it a more distinctly visible swirl. I used half the loaf for the Oven-Baked Caramel French Toast recipe on this site and highly recommend it, but it was just as delicious sliced and plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States