Cinnamon Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a delicious bread and it was a wonderful dough to work with. I don't know why people are doubling the sugar and cinnamon filling. This isn't supposed to be sweet like a cinnamon roll. I think the recipe is just great as is and had enough filling for me. The glaze on top adds to its sweetness. Thanks for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is wonderful recipes my kid love it . Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It's a wonderful bread! I doubled the filling and made the roll thinner so that I could have more layers of sweet goodness. Instead of the glaze I used a cream cheese glaze (4 oz of cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, add milk till proper consistency). AMAZING! This recipe made 2 loaves so I used the glaze for one as a dessert bread and the other to be eaten for breakfast or made into french toast. I do advise you to roll tightly and make sure all the ends are pinched together because the layers did come apart a bit. MAKE THIS BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Let it rise overnight in the refrigerator. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a good recipe, except I modified another reviewer's note, also without using a breadmaker. I do something similar with a raisin bread recipe, and it it works! 1.Dissolve yeast with ¼ cup warm water and add 1 tsp sugar. Proof 0 minutes until yeast is foamy. In saucepan add 1 cup milk and ¼ stick butter; warm slightly. Mix remaining sugar, salt and flour. Add yeast mixture into flour, milk mixture, and 2 beaten eggs. Use dough hook on stand mixer, adding additional flour until the dough is smooth and not sticky. Turn dough out into oiled bowl, cover and let rise in warm spot (about an hour). Let rise until doubled. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface; divide in half. Roll each portion into a 10-in. x 8-in. rectangle. Brush with softened butter. Combine sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over dough. Roll up tightly jelly-roll style, starting with a short side. Pinch seams and ends to seal. Place seam side down in two greased 9-in. x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pans. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour. 2. Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 minutes. Cover with foil; bake 5-10 minutes longer or until golden brown. Remove form pans to wire racks to cool completely. Combine glaze ingredients; spoon over loaves. Note: For filling, instead of using softened butter, you can also use egg wash, which helps the cinnamon sugar adhere to the bread. Beat one egg with 1 tsp water and brush on dough. Continue with sugar cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for when I went on the hunt for cinnamon bread. I swapped out the regular flour for King Arthur's whole white wheat and added a tablespoon of gluten per cup of flour. I also subbed olive oil for the butter and omitted the icing. It was delicious! I suspect most folks would prefer it with the icing, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe came out great. The amount of cinnamon inside was fine for me, I see no need to increase it. I also made it without the glaze. I'm going to try it again and increase the quantity to make three loaves, that way I can give some away and still have plenty for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
If you don't have a bread machine another user recommended: 1. Stir yeast in with warm milk and water. 2. I large bowl mix dry ingredients 3. Stir in yeast mixture add egg and butter. 4. Knead, adding a little flour at a time until the dough is smooth and not sticky. (kneaded in raisins at this point) 5. Let rise in warm place (covered with damp cloth) 6. When doubled, punch down, and let it rise again. When doubled again, Followed the rest of the recipe instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Was easy to make. Substituted brown sugar for white and used part bread flour, part whole wheat flour. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Ate it with honey butter (recipe found on this website) My family loved it. Came out perfect. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yummy with perfect texture. The only thing I would change is double the filling and roll it thinner. Also, it really doesn't need the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States