Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I'd give these more stars if I could! I did the following to help ensure they turned out great: used a slicer to get a consistently thin chip, lined my pans with foil, used someone else's suggestion to melt the butter in a bag and shake the slices to easily coat them and then with the oven at 400, I made sure to flip them all over after 10 minutes and carefully watched them for those last 10 minutes, pulling out some of the browner ones as needed. When they came out of the oven, they crisped up so nicely as they continued to bake a little on the pans. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The trick is to cut them extremely thin like a potato chip. I also decreased my oven to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were really really good. I just used spray butter instead of melted. This is one of the best and easiest sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Yummy side dish, we all enjoyed. 4 stars for calling them "chips" when they really don't get crispy like chips. That being said, they had a great flavor and I will certainly make them again! NOTE: melt butter in a bowl, mix in sugar, salt & cinnamon - then toss the potato slices in the bowl, mixing well. ALSO, bake at 375 to keep them from burning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Had some leftover uncooked sweet potatoes and wanted to try something new with them. Sliced them extra thin as other reviewers have suggested-- worked great! I would just make sure they're all evenly thin. I didn't brush on the toppings, just sprinkled them over the top, and that worked fine. So easy to make and smelled tantalicious while baking! Highly recommended:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Eh- I'd say it's just ok. Chips ahd great flavor, but were soggy and quite few burned before the other ones even began to crisp. Changes of note: instead of brushing the chips with the mixture, I put them all in a large Ziploc and shook 'em to save time (so very much easier). Next time I think I will put them on a broiler pan to help them crisp without burning. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great healthy alternative to regular chips or good as a vegetable side with your summer BBQ's. Cut slices thinly and as uniform in size as possible for best results. I melted the butter in a bowl mixed in the topping ingredients and stirred in the potato slices instead of brushing it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I sliced these very thin and baked them at 350 as another reviewer suggested. I set the timer for 20 minutes, and at just 15 they were all burned and had to be tossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Amazing! These were easy to make and healthier than regular potato chips. As stated before, the thinner you slice them, the better. I will definently be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We have been working to make the perfect sweet potato chips. Prior to getting a mandolin, we hand cut them, put them in a zip lock bag along with some olive oil and ground cinnamon, shook them up and baked at 375 for 35 minutes or so. We put a half apple on each end of the cookie sheet and as it baked, its juices helped sweeten the chips. Now with the mandolin we are trying to get the time and temp right. We don't mind the burnt ones, they are delicious. After baking, I turn off the oven and leave them in there to crisp up. Wonderful! If you cut the potatoes thicker, and using the method above, we ended up with "cookies", moist and chewy. Good for the grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tripp, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States