Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Burnt after 10 minutes. Need to alter cooking temp or time or both! Wish I could leave a review for the taste but they were to charred to tell. Perhaps will try again and update review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Found we prefer the same seasoning we like on baked sweet potatoes....Hot Hungarian Paprika with a little sea salt. Used veggie peeler to get thin cuts then rubbed with olive oil instead of butter and sprinkled with spice. There is about a 30 second window from perfect to burned and totally depends on how thin you get them cut, so you do really have to watch these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
good flavor, need a good slicer for the next time I make them though! thin ones were burnt & thicker ones were too soft :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
First time trying these chips and while they are a little tedious to make they are soooo worth it! My Kitchen Aid Slicer Attachment did not slice these as thinly as they need to be. Instead, I used a Boerner v-slicer - thin slice - placed slices in bowl and poured canola oil, salt and small amount of cinnamon and tossed making sure each piece had oil on it. Placed on a foil-lined baking pan and baked for about 12 minutes turned over and baked about 12 more minutes. The secret of these is to have them sliced thinly, arrange them on pan in a single layer, with none overlapping and watching them carefully. These get crispier as they cool. Thanks Chunker - loved your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Quality recipe base. Could be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
You really gotta cut these evenly and thinly, otherwise they take a lot longer to cook and are soft not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Awesome side dish, added a little vanilla extract and will probably use a little less salt next time. I cut mine about 1/2" thick (not thinly sliced as others did) because I wanted them to be softer, not crispy, to be eaten as more of a side with dinner. Healthier alternative to traditional sweet potato bake, my husband loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I expected these to be crispy, like potato chips. I made them as thin as possible but they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Thanks for all your suggestions. It ended up working out super well with a few minor adjustments. Some additional steps I ended up using include... • Flipping them every 10 min at 350 (Depends on your oven some ovens heat more evenly then others) • Soaking them for a few min, drying and then transferring them to the baking sheet. - This step seamed to help them cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunj

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yummy! I sliced my potatoes, sprayed a cookie sheet with olive oil and laid the potato slices in a single layer on the cookie sheet. Then I melted some butter and drizzled over the slices. I sprinkled the other items on each potato without measuring. I will make these on a weekly basis. They are VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States