Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
First time trying these chips and while they are a little tedious to make they are soooo worth it! My Kitchen Aid Slicer Attachment did not slice these as thinly as they need to be. Instead, I used a Boerner v-slicer - thin slice - placed slices in bowl and poured canola oil, salt and small amount of cinnamon and tossed making sure each piece had oil on it. Placed on a foil-lined baking pan and baked for about 12 minutes turned over and baked about 12 more minutes. The secret of these is to have them sliced thinly, arrange them on pan in a single layer, with none overlapping and watching them carefully. These get crispier as they cool. Thanks Chunker - loved your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Quality recipe base. Could be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
You really gotta cut these evenly and thinly, otherwise they take a lot longer to cook and are soft not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Awesome side dish, added a little vanilla extract and will probably use a little less salt next time. I cut mine about 1/2" thick (not thinly sliced as others did) because I wanted them to be softer, not crispy, to be eaten as more of a side with dinner. Healthier alternative to traditional sweet potato bake, my husband loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I expected these to be crispy, like potato chips. I made them as thin as possible but they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Thanks for all your suggestions. It ended up working out super well with a few minor adjustments. Some additional steps I ended up using include... • Flipping them every 10 min at 350 (Depends on your oven some ovens heat more evenly then others) • Soaking them for a few min, drying and then transferring them to the baking sheet. - This step seamed to help them cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunj

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yummy! I sliced my potatoes, sprayed a cookie sheet with olive oil and laid the potato slices in a single layer on the cookie sheet. Then I melted some butter and drizzled over the slices. I sprinkled the other items on each potato without measuring. I will make these on a weekly basis. They are VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I used two large sweet potatoes and it made a ton - delicious, but fiddly. I pretty much ate each batch as it came out of the oven, but to get them properly crisp I did need to bake at 350 for a bit longer (I think, I just watched the chips not the time and kept taking pans in and out of the oven) flipping them when they started to crisp and brown. Even so, Dad still got a lot of charcoal chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These chips came out looking burnt and flimsy. I was tempted to toss them; but, my Hubby still wanted to "taste" them. He ended up eating them all. He said they were delicious...especially the really thin ones. A little chewy, a little crispy. I did use a bit more butter and coated both sides of the chips before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Did not care for them baked them a required temprature some were soggy and some were over done and burnt i will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainbowlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States