Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I cut one jumbo-size sweet potato into chunks and then sliced the chunks with the thicker slicer on my mandoline (the thinnest slicer made them so paper thin I'd have needed five baking sheets to spread them out on). I had a cinnamon/brown sugar mixture left over from a previous dish, so I substituted 2 1/2 tsp. of it for the cinnamon and brown sugar called for in the recipes. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. The "chips" were delicious but they did not crisp up at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. The edges did curl up though. Both my husband and I enjoyed them nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made these today and while they had a good flavor, I wasn't crazy about the texture.... I would like them crisper. It was a lot of work slicing the potatoes, then putting them individually on cookie sheet, then turning them over, etc.... next time I may try the recipe for Cinnamon Sweet Potato slices. Thanks for submitting.... like I said, very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. It's great for regular potato chips as well! Mine took longer than what this said, but my slices may have been a tad thick, but they worked out nicely. These were a hit with everyone, my kids, husband, and other family that was over! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very delicious! Agree with other reviewer's note that the four stars is just because they're not crunchy like you'd expect a chip to be. But they are still very tasty, and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Overall not bad... I love sweet potatoes so it doesn't take a whole lot to please me... the thinner ones turned nicely into chips and the thicker cut ones I had stayed soft... both tasted good too... even the few taste ones I didn't put anything on tasted good... I guess it all depends what you are after if you want the alternative to potato chips be sure and slice thin... if you want sweet potato slices with cinnamon flavor leave them thicker... these taste good either way... I put the slices in a ziplock bag and added the butter mixture so much easier to coat that way.. thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
After 10 minutes the ones that were sliced very thin were burned and the thicker ones were chewy. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I'm always looking for something different, and this is it! To lower fat and calories, I decided to omit the melted butter and spray the potatoes with butter cooking spray instead before sprinkling on the mixture of salt, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Because I needed so many pans at once, I used convection bake at 375 degrees. I used parchment paper on two of my pans and ran out, so I just sprayed the rest of the pans with cooking spray and laid the potatoes on the pan. Surprisingly, I discovered that the parchment paper did not produce a crispy chip, but the "naked" pans did. Nice discovery for next time! You do have to watch these very carefully to keep them from burning. I ran out of the cinnamon sugar mix and just salted the last few. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We have been working to make the perfect sweet potato chips. Prior to getting a mandolin, we hand cut them, put them in a zip lock bag along with some olive oil and ground cinnamon, shook them up and baked at 375 for 35 minutes or so. We put a half apple on each end of the cookie sheet and as it baked, its juices helped sweeten the chips. Now with the mandolin we are trying to get the time and temp right. We don't mind the burnt ones, they are delicious. After baking, I turn off the oven and leave them in there to crisp up. Wonderful! If you cut the potatoes thicker, and using the method above, we ended up with "cookies", moist and chewy. Good for the grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tripp, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used Pam butter spray and Truvia sweetner to lighten the calories and they were still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These turned out okay. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes which worked out great. I tried a lower oven temp (375) to prevent burning. Some still burned, some were crispy, and some where soft. Next time, I will try another baking method. There's got to be another way to perfect them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States