Cinnamon Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very delicious! Agree with other reviewer's note that the four stars is just because they're not crunchy like you'd expect a chip to be. But they are still very tasty, and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Overall not bad... I love sweet potatoes so it doesn't take a whole lot to please me... the thinner ones turned nicely into chips and the thicker cut ones I had stayed soft... both tasted good too... even the few taste ones I didn't put anything on tasted good... I guess it all depends what you are after if you want the alternative to potato chips be sure and slice thin... if you want sweet potato slices with cinnamon flavor leave them thicker... these taste good either way... I put the slices in a ziplock bag and added the butter mixture so much easier to coat that way.. thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
After 10 minutes the ones that were sliced very thin were burned and the thicker ones were chewy. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I'm always looking for something different, and this is it! To lower fat and calories, I decided to omit the melted butter and spray the potatoes with butter cooking spray instead before sprinkling on the mixture of salt, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Because I needed so many pans at once, I used convection bake at 375 degrees. I used parchment paper on two of my pans and ran out, so I just sprayed the rest of the pans with cooking spray and laid the potatoes on the pan. Surprisingly, I discovered that the parchment paper did not produce a crispy chip, but the "naked" pans did. Nice discovery for next time! You do have to watch these very carefully to keep them from burning. I ran out of the cinnamon sugar mix and just salted the last few. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We have been working to make the perfect sweet potato chips. Prior to getting a mandolin, we hand cut them, put them in a zip lock bag along with some olive oil and ground cinnamon, shook them up and baked at 375 for 35 minutes or so. We put a half apple on each end of the cookie sheet and as it baked, its juices helped sweeten the chips. Now with the mandolin we are trying to get the time and temp right. We don't mind the burnt ones, they are delicious. After baking, I turn off the oven and leave them in there to crisp up. Wonderful! If you cut the potatoes thicker, and using the method above, we ended up with "cookies", moist and chewy. Good for the grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tripp, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used Pam butter spray and Truvia sweetner to lighten the calories and they were still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These turned out okay. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes which worked out great. I tried a lower oven temp (375) to prevent burning. Some still burned, some were crispy, and some where soft. Next time, I will try another baking method. There's got to be another way to perfect them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Burnt after 10 minutes. Need to alter cooking temp or time or both! Wish I could leave a review for the taste but they were to charred to tell. Perhaps will try again and update review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Found we prefer the same seasoning we like on baked sweet potatoes....Hot Hungarian Paprika with a little sea salt. Used veggie peeler to get thin cuts then rubbed with olive oil instead of butter and sprinkled with spice. There is about a 30 second window from perfect to burned and totally depends on how thin you get them cut, so you do really have to watch these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
good flavor, need a good slicer for the next time I make them though! thin ones were burnt & thicker ones were too soft :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States