Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This cake is great! But when you make it you might want to dubble your recipe because it dosen't make very much. Also I thought the recomende amout of toping was to much, but it was one of the best cakes iv'e had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Excellent recipe! I made it just as it's written and I didn't think it made too much topping. You can control that anyway since you sift it on the cake at the end. The flavor reminded me of a homemade powdered sugar doughnut. You can tell this is an old-time recipe. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Easy, quick and so tasty! I love this "old-fashinoned" recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
this was an great cake. it very simple and quick and it really does taste just like a mini donut. its great for those with a sweet tooth.thank you for sharing a great recipe. the only thing i would say is that you don't need so much icing sugar for the top i narrowed it down to 1/2 cup and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Wow!!! This is "GREAT" Just I what needed, the cake itself is so fluffy and light. Wow this a great coffee cake,anybody could do this I mean,I love to cook but I'm not a good baker, and this recipe made it so easy and fast for me to get my craving for something sweet. I just want people to try this recipe you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I love cinnamon cakes but this one had an off taste to me. Wasnt as i expected it to be. It did have a nice texture and lightness to it. Was just kind of bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was excellent and so easy to make. I used as a breakfast coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cake part was fine - though nothing special and like others have stated, a little flat due to a small amount of batter. I just didn't care for the topping. It was dry and powdery. When I was done, my husband was sure there was another step to cooking this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I too grew up eating this, but as a breakfast treat. The recipe was passed on from my Grandmother to my mother, and on to me. It was one of my first baking experiences and now I am a professional Pastry Chef. My notes are simple.... for better flavor use either butter flavored shortening or replace some or all of the shortening with butter. Also I put cinnamon IN the cake batter instead of just on top. For the folks that didn't think it was exciting enough remember this is from the days of simplistic home baking. When mothers still cooked for the families everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe - the cake was very moist and delicious. I took the suggestions of another reviewer and added cinnamon to the batter and I replaced all of the shortening with butter. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States