Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by whitejademoon
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
this is an excellent one for beginners. soooo easy. i used softened marg and added cinnamon to the batter, also. shortening is always soft, so to get the marg or butter to cream into the sugar, it must be soft. the powdered sugar on top is a matter of taste. right after you take it out of the oven, rub the top with a pat of butter, then powder it. it looks like allot of sugar but some melts. if you don't have a sifter, use a strainer or a colander, or just sprinkle it on. after i did that i cut around the edge and used two spatulas to put it on a serving plate. beautiful. good for after supper and good for breakfast, too. i shared this at work and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitejademoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I loved this fast, wonderful dessert! Like most others, I subbed margarine for the shortening and added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter (I think that's a must for this cake's flavor), and it was wonderful! Next time, I may experiment with some walnuts and a butter/brown sugar crumb mixture on top, but it's great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa Moorman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I didn't have shortening so substituted butter, also added about 1 teaspoon cinnamon to cake batter. Excellent taste and texture. So easy, so tasty - I'll make this again and again. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
this recipe was terrific!!! it was also very easy to make!!!! and if it was easy for me it will be so easy for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very easy, very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Fantastic! I added more cinnamon to the batter (2 teaspoons). It's very moist and has a good texture. It doesn't make a big cake - I'd do a double amount and make 2 layers for a decent size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Loved this! I did cut back a little of the powdered sugar and added some cinnamon to the cake mixture, although I may add a little more cinnamon to it next time because my children like a little more cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gayle Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This is so easy and delicious! I loved it! I am just a tween and thought this so easy and FUN! The texture was just right. I didn't have a lot of ingredients, but felt like baking and chose this one. Good work! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Really tasty dessert. I did use butter instead of the shortening. Easy to prepare and just the right size for our family. My seven year old daughter pretty much made this herself. She thinks this is the best cake she has ever tasted. We'll keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This cake turned out so good! I was limited on certain ingredients so I chose this recipe. I'm really happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States