Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, however I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to cake. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This cake came out great. My husband and myself ate the whole thing in 3 days time. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy. I added cinnamon to batter as others did. Mime came out a little dry but I'm not the greatest baker. I might try this again adding like 1/2 cup of applesauce and see how that turns out. Either way I will make this again. Oh and I love that it is a small cake. We never finish a regular size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Wonderfully simple. My husband and I don't like desserts that are overly sweet. This was perfect. Just sweet enough. I also enjoyed that it is so easy to throw together for a spur of the moment dessert with ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I found this recipe to be kind of bland. If I so choose to make it again, I'll probably add more cinnamon or all spice to the batter itself. It's also very pale which wasn't too appetizing. But I suppose it would be ok if you were you pair it with something else: i.e. with fruit and custard or a light sauce on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious and different! You definitely don't need as much topping as the recipe suggests -- a little sprinkle of cinnamon & sugar is all you need. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the cake batter -- gives the cake a nice color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
It was simple, quick, and put together with ingredients that are typically in the cupboard. For that I give it 5 stars. For the taste...well, it was fine/good, nothing real special. The topping just doesn't feel like it is part of the cake. You have this moist cake with a pile of dry powder on top. It is odd when you bite into it, you will find that you shake the majority of the topping off just to obtain moisture in your mouth. (And also to not have a roof full of stuck powdered sugar.) Overall it was nice to be able to have a fresh baked item in the morning with limited ingredients and limited time, but it is not a guest worthy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Delicious, especially still warm from the oven. I followed other peoples' advice and put the cinnamon in the cake rather than on top, and I only used about 1/4 cup powdered sugar for the topping. That was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
A really nice basic cake to make with ingredients that are often on hand! I substituted the white sugar for brown sugar for the topping because I wanted the brown sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
It was okay, not great. I probably wouldn't make it again although the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States