Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Wonderfully simple. My husband and I don't like desserts that are overly sweet. This was perfect. Just sweet enough. I also enjoyed that it is so easy to throw together for a spur of the moment dessert with ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I found this recipe to be kind of bland. If I so choose to make it again, I'll probably add more cinnamon or all spice to the batter itself. It's also very pale which wasn't too appetizing. But I suppose it would be ok if you were you pair it with something else: i.e. with fruit and custard or a light sauce on the side?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Delicious and different! You definitely don't need as much topping as the recipe suggests -- a little sprinkle of cinnamon & sugar is all you need. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the cake batter -- gives the cake a nice color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
It was simple, quick, and put together with ingredients that are typically in the cupboard. For that I give it 5 stars. For the taste...well, it was fine/good, nothing real special. The topping just doesn't feel like it is part of the cake. You have this moist cake with a pile of dry powder on top. It is odd when you bite into it, you will find that you shake the majority of the topping off just to obtain moisture in your mouth. (And also to not have a roof full of stuck powdered sugar.) Overall it was nice to be able to have a fresh baked item in the morning with limited ingredients and limited time, but it is not a guest worthy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Delicious, especially still warm from the oven. I followed other peoples' advice and put the cinnamon in the cake rather than on top, and I only used about 1/4 cup powdered sugar for the topping. That was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
A really nice basic cake to make with ingredients that are often on hand! I substituted the white sugar for brown sugar for the topping because I wanted the brown sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
It was okay, not great. I probably wouldn't make it again although the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitejademoon
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
this is an excellent one for beginners. soooo easy. i used softened marg and added cinnamon to the batter, also. shortening is always soft, so to get the marg or butter to cream into the sugar, it must be soft. the powdered sugar on top is a matter of taste. right after you take it out of the oven, rub the top with a pat of butter, then powder it. it looks like allot of sugar but some melts. if you don't have a sifter, use a strainer or a colander, or just sprinkle it on. after i did that i cut around the edge and used two spatulas to put it on a serving plate. beautiful. good for after supper and good for breakfast, too. i shared this at work and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitejademoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I loved this fast, wonderful dessert! Like most others, I subbed margarine for the shortening and added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter (I think that's a must for this cake's flavor), and it was wonderful! Next time, I may experiment with some walnuts and a butter/brown sugar crumb mixture on top, but it's great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I didn't have shortening so substituted butter, also added about 1 teaspoon cinnamon to cake batter. Excellent taste and texture. So easy, so tasty - I'll make this again and again. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States