Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used butter instead of shortening. My sis said it tasted like a donut:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
LOVED this recipe and I must say... I made this cake while listening to all three of my preschool girls whine about how they wanted a special snack -- and for some reason cinnamon was the requested spice?!? I live in Germany, although am an American, and there are NOT many cinnamon cake/roll recipes... I found this recipe just browsing "cinnamon" and thought I can do this. I doubled the recipe as some readers had said to do. I didn't let the butter and sugar cream together long enough and had a clump, so I added the vanilla and was as impatient as the girls and added the milk. Looked TERRIBLE... to try to get a decent batter I went ahead and added all the ingredients and left it on mix while I helped one of the girls get dressed. I came back to a gorgeous batter, but wondered if I "overmixed" it. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and put the cake in the oven for 20 minutes as wasn't sure and took it out at 22 because I was scared of it getting too brown. I am thinking I underbaked it, but it was UH-MAZ-ING!!!!!!!!!! I think the cake was gone in 15 minutes flat and I don't mean cut up and on plates, I mean I couldn't cut it fast enough GONE in every tummy within arm's reach! My Turkish husband requested an encore... wow, YOU saved my DAY and I am indebted to you! Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This turned out wonderful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfallgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Simple to make, this non-complicated and wonderfully 'clean' tasting cake is a great way to start the weekend! My 5 yr old daughter loves to help add the ingredients while making this cake, and loves the idea of having 'supper' for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
If I could give this a 6 star rating I would - Not sure why but this is the best Cinnamon cake I have ever made. I did make one ingredient change - butter instead of shortening and added the cinnamon to the batter, I cooked in a 10" bunt pan and baked it 45 mins. I changed the topping to a confectioner sugar/corn syrup glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This cake was fantastic! I also added lots of cinnamon to the batter itself and used lots of powdered sugar and cinnamon on top, and it is FABULOUS! The melted butter with the confectioners sugar kind of makes a glaze at the bottom layer of all the confectioners sugar, so it is well worth it to use the whole amount called for if you ask me! Thank you for sharing! My husband absolutely loved it, as well as my 18mo old! :) As a matter of fact, I made my first batch last night, and it was gone by this morning, so my husband requested I make another one! LOL! He ate it for breakfast (and obviously during the day while I was gone! LOL!) so I doubled the recipe tonight! :) WONDERFUL! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this cake was one of my first to bake. Here in australia we call it "cinnamon tea cake" it very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is the same recipe that has been in my family since my great-grandmother's time (originally from C&H sugar box). My GGM made it as a Sunday night supper cake; this tradition was continued by my grandmother, then my aunt, and then myself. I love it just as-is and haven't changed a thing, although I must admit that the cinnamon-sugar topping called for is way more than you'll need for one cake-- a third of that will suffice. My GGM used to serve it with gingered pears spooned over the top. Tasty and traditional, a simple old-fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added about a tablespoon of cinnamon to the cake. I doubled the recipe and got almost 18 cupcakes out of it. I reduced the cooking time to 18 minutes for cupcakes. The cake rises quite a bit so next time Ii'll leave maybe 1/2 an inch of room in the cupcake tin to the rim. They deffinately remind me of a doughnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, however I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to cake. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States