Cinnamon Supper Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This turned out wonderful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfallgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Simple to make, this non-complicated and wonderfully 'clean' tasting cake is a great way to start the weekend! My 5 yr old daughter loves to help add the ingredients while making this cake, and loves the idea of having 'supper' for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
If I could give this a 6 star rating I would - Not sure why but this is the best Cinnamon cake I have ever made. I did make one ingredient change - butter instead of shortening and added the cinnamon to the batter, I cooked in a 10" bunt pan and baked it 45 mins. I changed the topping to a confectioner sugar/corn syrup glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This cake was fantastic! I also added lots of cinnamon to the batter itself and used lots of powdered sugar and cinnamon on top, and it is FABULOUS! The melted butter with the confectioners sugar kind of makes a glaze at the bottom layer of all the confectioners sugar, so it is well worth it to use the whole amount called for if you ask me! Thank you for sharing! My husband absolutely loved it, as well as my 18mo old! :) As a matter of fact, I made my first batch last night, and it was gone by this morning, so my husband requested I make another one! LOL! He ate it for breakfast (and obviously during the day while I was gone! LOL!) so I doubled the recipe tonight! :) WONDERFUL! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this cake was one of my first to bake. Here in australia we call it "cinnamon tea cake" it very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is the same recipe that has been in my family since my great-grandmother's time (originally from C&H sugar box). My GGM made it as a Sunday night supper cake; this tradition was continued by my grandmother, then my aunt, and then myself. I love it just as-is and haven't changed a thing, although I must admit that the cinnamon-sugar topping called for is way more than you'll need for one cake-- a third of that will suffice. My GGM used to serve it with gingered pears spooned over the top. Tasty and traditional, a simple old-fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added about a tablespoon of cinnamon to the cake. I doubled the recipe and got almost 18 cupcakes out of it. I reduced the cooking time to 18 minutes for cupcakes. The cake rises quite a bit so next time Ii'll leave maybe 1/2 an inch of room in the cupcake tin to the rim. They deffinately remind me of a doughnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe, however I added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to cake. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This cake came out great. My husband and myself ate the whole thing in 3 days time. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy. I added cinnamon to batter as others did. Mime came out a little dry but I'm not the greatest baker. I might try this again adding like 1/2 cup of applesauce and see how that turns out. Either way I will make this again. Oh and I love that it is a small cake. We never finish a regular size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States