Cinnamon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Resist the temptation to add extra flour to this recipie. The dough will be *REALLY* soft, but you'll be short-changing yourself if you make the addition. These cookies are perfect as the recipie is written. These cookies are great! If you follow the directions and refrigerate the dough for as long as it says, it firms up nicely. The cookies are quite attractive if you roll the edges in the cinnamon sugar, but for a less attractive, spicier cookie, dip the top in the cinnamon sugar too. Don't overestimate the 2" diameter it says to roll the dough out to. It'll seem narrow, but these things grow to twice the diameter when you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Love these..so much! I followed the recipe exactly, except I just transferred the soft cookie dough to plastic wrap (in one clump) and refrigerated until it was firm enough to work with. I used a medium cookie scoop, rolled into balls, and swirled each ball in the cinnamon sugar mixture (which I feel, in this recipe, is way too much - half the amount will do just fine.). I baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes (until golden brown). After a night in a closed container, the cookies were super-soft. YUM! I have already made these 5 times since I read this recipe. This is FAR better than the, sometimes bland, snickerdoodle. Give it a try fellow all-recipe'rs! You won't be disappointed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
No one told me to make a double batch because I would eat so many while making the cookies. I did not refrigerate as long as suggested. Instead, I rolled the dough into balls and rolled them in the cinnamon sugar mixture prior to baking. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I absolutely LOVE these cookies! I alter this a bit and like the result. I do everything the same (besides doubling the batch) until dividing it up into logs and refrigerating it. I simply scoop it out, roll it into a ball and roll the whole ball in the cinnamon sugar mix then bake. My family and friends always rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
These cookies are delicious!! The cookie dough came out unbelievably sticky and I lost half the dough before I even got it to the pan in my hands even though I floured my hands (and I left it in the fridge overnight). 2 days later I just made another batch--a double in fact, and this time, separated the dough in 2 bowls and used a spoon to roll the batter into little balls and dip in the sugar/cinnamon. This worked much better and I lost much less dough Definitely make a double batch, these cookies are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
What yummy cookies! Instead of the 1 tsp vanilla, I used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract. The cookies came out great. I did as others suggested, and put the bowl of dough in the fridge for 10 min until is was workable, then portioned it onto parchment, rolled it into a log, and put it in the freezer for an hour before cutting it up like the recipe said. One tip: I could have cut that cinnamon sugar recipe to a quarter of what it said. It made way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Wow these cookies are really good!!! Im not a baker so I usually screw up cookies but this one was easy to follow. My dough wasnt really skicky/runny like others, but I rolled it in a big ball and put it in the fridge for 1 hr. then I rolled into 1 inch balls into sugar/cinnamon. (I only used 2 tbs of sugar and 3 dashes of cinnamon). Then I flattend the balls and baked them for 8 minutes. They were really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These are heavenly! They are buttery and light with crispy edges and chewy middles. I did as LYNDYL recommended and rolled the dough into balls then dipped them in the cinnamon suger mixture before baking. I made about 24 balls for good-sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I am sitting here munching these cookies as I type this! :) They are wonderful! I did *not* add extra flour either, and the dough is very, *very* soft--flour your hands before you try to roll the dough. And don't underestimate 1/4 inch--my cookies were too thin and flat-but totally my fault! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Save yourself the trouble...make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States