Cinnamon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Best recipe of Cinnamon Sugar Cookies!!! ( I have tried many) and this is my favorite by far!!!! The only change I made was to use only 1/2 of teaspoon of cinnamon with the dough, and then rolled the balls with a cinnamon/sugar mix before flattening them with the glass (I only did this because my daughter likes them cinnamonny!!!!! Thank you for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These are great! They taste like shortbread cookies with a hint of cinnamon! The only change I made from the directions was that I combined the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and cinnamon ahead of time. Then I cream the sugars and butter so when that was done I gradually added in the egg, vanilla and flour mix. I also didn't them in sugar. I bake them for 10 minutes, and they turned out very soft and crispy! I also used a 1/4 cup to make bigger cookies and baked those for 15 minutes. They turned out just as great! Next time I'll add in more cinnamon to the recipe so I can taste more cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are good – too good. I’m familiar with the light, crispy, sandy texture that the powdered sugar/oil/cream of tartar combo produces in a cookie and these turned out just as I imagined they would. I wanted a really cinnamony cookie so I tasted the dough and decided to double up on the cinnamon. Even at that, however, they weren’t overly cinnamony so I was glad I had made the addition. Diehard cinnamon lovers may want to add even more cinnamon and/or add cinnamon extract or cinnamon chips. But make no mistake – sticking to the recipe just as is would have produced a great cookie too! The dough was a little on the goopy side and I was almost tempted to add more flour, but after a few hours in the fridge it was just fine. I rolled the cookie dough balls in sugar as well as flattening them with a sugared glass and placed them on ungreased cookie sheets. Not a fancy cookie but still a beautiful, sparkly, tender, cinnamon-sugar cookie. Loved ‘em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
After reading other's remarks, I halved the recipe (I just needed a few cookies to add on the side of an ice cream dish drizzled with melted dark chocolate mixed with heavy whipping cream) and instead of using 1/2 c. oil, I used 1/3 c. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon. The first batch I left rolled up and they were fairly thick (1/2 inch) after cooking. And fabulous. I wanted more of a wafer so smushed the second batch after rolling in cinnamon sugar (cinnamon sugar also on the bottom of the glass I used). Same fabulous cookie, just a little lighter and crispier. Will use this one again. Super easy. I wasn't even super careful when measuring. Dough was easy to handle. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was agreat cookie recipe. Everyone loved it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe. No need to roll out dough and cut cookies to make evenly round cookies. I used macadamia nuts and they were delicious! I think I may put a little less vegetable oil just because I'm grease-aphobic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These cookies remind me and my neighbor of delicate snickerdoodles. We really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I wish I could write a review without rating. I may revisit this rating. I made these as I was out of molasses for another recipe. I thought the butter and oil ratio seemed high but as a knitter, there is a saying: "Always trust the pattern". When my dough was mixed, it was extremely gloppy and could not be rolled into balls properly. I did separate the dough into individual portions and 'rolled' into a cinnamon and sugar mix. I love cookies with oil in them as that gives them a 'melt in your mouth' quality and one can make a crispy outside by rolling in sugar. One can take some sugar from the recipe and put it on the outside if one doesn't want to add more sugar to an already sweet recipe. I disagree with calling these "Cinnamon cookies". The amount of cinnamon in the recipe does not lend to these tasting of cinnamon. I added a Tbs of cinnamon in the dough and rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. They still were not very strong tasting but were very good. I know I'm all over the place with this review. Basically, as the recipe is written I would not make again. I would, however, tweak this recipe and perfect it, except, one can find another oil cookie recipe here on AR and add cinnamon to taste. I'd rather not give a bad review for how a recipe tastes. Each has her/his own preferences and how can one rate on that? It was how the dough consistency turned out for me, that I am not happy about. The final product, tho the dough was irritating to work with, was a mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
i like how you took this common recipe and added such a simple ingredient like cinnamon to change the taste. it gave it a sort of spice yet sweetness. but it didnt over-power the original sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States