Cinnamon Sugar Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I feel compelled to review this because it represents the beauty of allrecipes! I needed a cinnamon cookie recipe, found this one, read the rave reviews and gave it a shot. This is a very delicious cookie. I followed the instructions exactly (and I did also chill the dough as others did for at least 30 minutes) and they turned out perfectly. I used a tablespoon to measure out each cookie and the recipe made exactly one less of 4 dozen cookies! The cinnamon/sugar mixture was just right - not too cinnamon-y and enough to cover all the cookies. I see some have experienced dough too difficult to form into cookies - the key is to not have the butter TOO soft when mixing and definitely chilling before forming. The idea others have had to cut the cinnamon and instead add M&Ms is interesting. The difference is this butter cookie recipe has more brown sugar than white sugar which results in a more molasses-tasting cookie and I think chewier too, just FYI. Overall, I would highly recommend this! I'm not a huge fan of cinnamon and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great recipe! These cookies are fantastic. I was looking for a recipe to make cookies like the Mrs. Fields' Sugar-Butter cookies with M&Ms in them. I omitted the cinnamon from this recipe and left the rest as is...when the dough was mixed I folded in about a cup and a half of M&Ms. I chilled the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes then rolled it into balls...I wanted my cookies monster sized (for gifts) so this batch made about 18 monster sized cookies. They turned out excellent!! Crispy around the edge, soft and chewy in the middle, and with a great butter/brown sugar flavor. One caution: don't overbake these! They will be VERY soft in the center when you take them out of the oven, but don't be fooled! If the edges are crispy and the cookies are a light golden brown color, then they are done....take them off the cookie sheet to cool and the centers will set up to be chewy and wonderful. I am going to try making these again with the cinnamon because I think that would be delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This cookie was delicious. The first time I made these cookies, I didn't read the directions very carefully and added in the cinnamon sugar into the batter and had to make an extra amount of it. I thought they might turn out too cinnamonny, but they were perfect. These cookies were so soft and moist. I made a batch for my class at school and they were gone in an instant. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I tinkered with the recipe a llittle but the results sure panned out for it. I wanted a cinnamon cookie with bold cinnamon flavor so I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter as well as a 10 oz. bag (1-2/3 cup) of cinnamon chips. I don't like flat cookies so I made sure to chill the dough well. Finally, I was not comfortable baking these at such a low oven temperature so I baked them at the more conventional temperature of 375 degrees for 8-9 minutes. They spread out to just the right thickness, neither too flat nor too thin. What did surprise me is how petite they turned out to be, only about 2 inches around. They're buttery, cinnamon-y, soft, yet chewy. Mom and Hubs were eating these before they even cooled and immediately proclaimed them a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Ridiculous! The entire batch was gone in 48 hours and my family only had about a good 6 cookies. Sigh. I ought to be ashamed of my self...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! I follow the recipe exactly, except for the vanilla. I always add twice the amount of vanilla. So delicious! Over beating really does ruin this cookie so make sure so be careful when mixing! Over all, one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Best cinnamon cookies I have ever made! My boyfriend was teasing me about the fact that my cookies didnt taste as good as store-bought kinds, they lacked that "je ne sais quoi" and never turned out crispy or chewy enough. Well this recipe showed him! The cookies turned out wonderfully crispy on the outside and moist + chewy on the inside, irresistable! I had to half the recipe the next time so we wouldnt eat too many of them! The second time around I made a depression in the centre of the cookie after rolling in cinnamon mixture and put in a teaspoon of raspberry jam , delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These cookies were fantastic. So moist and chewy...even after 2 days. I added raisins but other than that I didnt change a thing! Think I am going to make some tonight for my girlfriends!***made these cookies again for a second time. This time, i used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour, 1/4 t. of baking powder to make them rise more, added a few shakes of nutmeg to the dry mix before adding it to the wet ingredients, and baked them in a 375 degree oven for 11 minutes. I also added the raisins again. They came out even better the 2nd time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apottsluv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Wow. I was wary with all the reports of flat cookies, but these turned out fluffy and rounded, much like muffin tops as described by a previous reviewer. I did alter the recipe by using 2 cups whole wheat flour and the remaining balance using white flour. Chilled the dough for an hour before easily forming them into perfect balls. I also added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough. Used a food processor to cream the sugar, and for the final addition of dry ingredients to wet, processed until just barely mixed. Yummy, yummy. Cake-like consistency with a crispy outside. Cinnamon lovers rejoice. Can't stop eating them. HELP! Evil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Great Cookie!!! 1st batch, as written..great! 2nd batch...even better!! I added 1/4t nutmeg, 1/4t cream of tartar, 1/2t cinnamon to make a more spicey version... baked at 325 for 12 to 13 minutes ...my cookie critic hubbie preferred them! Great Mrs. Fields sub!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States