Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I reviewed this recipe awhile ago (I loved it then, and still do!)and wanted to post that after making it many times, I have figured out the secret to making the dough not so crumbly! If you follow the recipe exactly, make sure that you cream the butter and the sugar together very well and then mix in the eggs and vanilla. Mix the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a seperate bowl as directed. When you add the flour mixture to the sugar, butter and eggs, don't add more than 1/4 cup at a time and blend it in well. It will still be a dry dough (it's supposed to be) but it won't be as crumbly and hard to work with. You can easily knead it on the table and form it into logs this way without it falling to pieces on you..... just thought that I would share! Good luck with yours, this really is a great recipe! I have recently tried a new twist. I keep the recipe the same but don't add the cinnamon. I substitute about 1-1/2 cups dried cranberries (crasins) and about 1/2 a bag of white chocolate chips! They are the new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I'm from an Italian family so we know our biscotti! I love cinnamon so I thought these biscotti were delicious. However, I followed this recipe exactly as written & the dough is way too crumbly. I added 1 more whole egg to bind it all together & the consistency was perfect. You can also add some chopped hazelnuts for a little bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I thought this was great. I made it twice and the second time I made it for my diabetic grandpa, and this is, so far, the first biscotti recipe that has worked with a sugar substitute. My grandpa and I are both very thankful for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe that turns out every time! A mocha just isn't a mocha without a little biscotti to accompany it. I don't bother with 1 egg yolk, i just use two whole eggs. Also, sometimes I like to drizzle the toasted slices with some melted chocolate right when they come out of the oven. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was my first time making biscotti. I altered the recipe a bit, using half vanilla and half almond extract. The dough shaped up nicely, and was easy to slice out of the oven before toasting. The taste is a tiny bit bland, next time I will add orange or lemon zest and perhaps some almonds. I will be making this biscotti again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is the best biscotti I have ever had (and being Italian) I have made a lot -- glowing reviews on this. I did add 2/3 cup of Hershey Cinnamon chips and that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very easy and inexpensive to make. I followed the directions exactly and took this to a cookie exchange. I heard nothing but good comments! I even heard a guy there say, "I'm getting this recipe so my wife can make these for me!" My 10 year old son wants to eat the dough while I make them. His comment: "This dough is heaven!" I drizzled the biscotti with melted white almond bark. They were so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I brought these to a potluck dinner party and came home with an empty platter! These are fantastic! I am not a big fan of the "teething biscuit" hardness of many biscotti, so I undercooked by a couple minutes and got a wonderfully crispy (but not rock-hard) biscotti. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very good flavor. Just sweet enough. My dough was really dry, so I added an extra egg white. With the extra moisture, it was just fine. Someone else mentioned baking them for only 5 minutes the first time, because they crumbled when cutting after 15 minutes. I would agree and will try baking them 5-10 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good biscotti. I had to add one extra egg however, cuz was too dry otherwise. I also made a mistake that did no harm. I brushed the cookie log with be beaten egg before the first bake and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Worked out fine in spite of my lousy memory. I love cinnamon, so next time i think I will up it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States