Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I made these twice - the first as muffins and they were delicious. The second in a 9 x 9 pan as a coffee cake. I drizzled some white icing on top. Second time - - delicious, again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
tried this recipe twice and it's a flop!!! the muffins were heavy and gummy!! i don't know what went wrong! the 2nd time, for sure i didn't overmix. could it be the homemade buttermilk? we don't have buttermilk in our area. i used 1/2 c milk and 1 1/2 tsp vinegar, stir and let stand for 10 mins. help!!! i know these muffins should be delicious!!! will try for the very last time... change the buttermilk to orange juice. oh, i also put some orange zest and they smelled really yummy! but gummy, no air-pockets! :((((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very good little muffins, although I do agree with others that they could use more orange flavor. Very easy, though. Either I didn't use enough of the cinnamon sugar mix or the recipe calls for too much; I had about half leftover after spooning it into the middle of the muffins. I think maybe next time I'll swirl it in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed these muffins. I made the following changes: used 1/4 cup oil and added applesauce to make 1/3 cup, used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar. I also added some orange zest. I didn't make the streusel but instead made an orange glaze using 1/2 cup icing sugar, 1 tbsp orange juice and more orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe WITH orange zest added. I zested a tangerine actually, and then used the juice from it as my juice and added undiluted concentrate to make the full half cup. I also used whole wheat flour and some molasses because I used the whole wheat and had no brown sugar. I didn't add the topping, to save on calories, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
My 11 year old made this. I couldn't taste it due to my diet. The kids love it, they said they couldn't taste any orange flavor but it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylee1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I followed this recipe almost exactly, though I did add a teaspoon of orange zest to the muffin batter to boost the orange flavor that I love. The result was a truly beautiful looking muffin that my husband loved, with a nice tang that contrasted well with the cinnamon sugar swirl in the middle and the streusel topping. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were WONDERFUL! I'd rate them 4 1/2 stars as is, but that's not an option, so they're 5 stars anyway. I added 1 t. orange extract with the vanilla, and I think I'd even add another t. of the orange. And I think I might have accidentally used 1 t. of baking powder instead of 2, which made them an absolutely WONDERFUL texture. (We're at high altitude, so we're supposed to reduce leavening, so this may not be a good idea at sea level.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Great Recipe!! Everyone loved these!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These were very dry, like a dry homemade cake. Desperately in need of moistness in some form. Try the raspberry streusel muffins from this site instead, but make them with blueberries. Now that's a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States