Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yummy! I have made these several times now. Here's the deal: If you use 1/2 C undiluted frozen concentrate instead of the regular oj, you will get a light orange flavor. Otherwise no one I have fed these to can tell there is anything orange in them. I never have buttermilk so I have substituted with canned milk, whole cream, and sour cream. The sugar and cinnamon in the middle causes more work than is worth for the little taste it offers. Just double the crumb topping; that is what my kids love anyway. If you divide the two teaspoons between soda and powder, you will get a denser muffin (a personal preference). Also it is very easy to ditch the muffin pan and just make a coffee cake in a greased 8X8 pan. If you find these muffins dry, you are either baking them too long OR your oven is too hot. Be aware that glass and dark tinted pans also are hotter so adjust your heat and time for that as well. After your muffs are cool, placing them in an airtight container for a time brings out the moisture and all the flavor!!! Great recipe Michelleca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made them just this morning! The muffin is very moist; however, I found that you could "taste" the vegetable oil--and I know I did not overpour! The streusel topping was yummy and I added orange coloring as a previous rater recommended. I also swapped the vanilla extract for orange and you could really taste the citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonneandPetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Made these last nite. By Golly, they were GOOD! Even tho' I reduced the sugar by a tad, used concentrated orange juice plus a bit of lemon zest, nevertheless, I would still give it 5 stars since there ain't no 4 1/2 star rating. The orange flavour (after tweaking) just comes thru and the cinnamon sugar centre just completely blends with the whole muffin! If you don't try this, the loss is yours! Thanks so much Michelleca for this recipe. I am gonna Wow my family & friends with these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I loved the combination of orange and cinnamon in these muffins. I used fresh-squeezed OJ. Delicious as-is, but I just might add the zest of an orange next time for even more flavor! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These are the new favorite muffin in my house!!! They are so delicious and moist, and I will be making them again and again. I made a total of two changes to the recipe: I used half whole wheat flour (because I feel that something I eat for breakfast should be fairly healthy) and I didn't have buttermilk, so instead I used the same amount of light sour cream. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Yum! Turned this into coffee cake, used all applesauce. Had to 1.5x the recipe. Very moist and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This will be a recipe I will make over and over. I love these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
These turned out really good. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These muffins were very yummy with one minor addition. I added about 1/4 cup orange pulp, the muffins stayed moist and the orange flavor really came through. Aside from that it is an excellent recipe, I will definately make again. Num Num.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was going to rate these a 3 because I thought they were a litle dry, even though I baked them for just 20 minutes. But then along came my daughter the cinnamon lover and they just vanished. I used the juice from oranges in my fruit bowl and if I were to do that again I would probably add their zest as well as the flavour was very slight. Thankyou for a recipe my daughter loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States