Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I rate this recipe 4.5 stars as is. Quite good. I added orange zest (about 1/2 tsp) to the topping, added 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the batter, and included slivered almonds in the streusel. Made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
As written, they were pretty good. I agree, they could be a little orange-ier. I made the orange juice from concentrate and used 2 cans of water instead of 3, I think that this made them a little bitter, so if I do that again, I'll add a little bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
really good and very moist muffin. I used freshly squeezed orange juice , as well as 1/4 tsp of orange extract and 2 tsp of orange rind. orange flavor was perfect. My struesel topping didnt turn out at all, not crumbly more running and melted non the less it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great muffin - but definitely lacking in orange flavor which is disappointing because the combination of spices goes so beautifully with orange.... However, on a bright note these muffins are so moist and full of flavor on their own that next time I would add some orange zest to heighten the orange flavor. I made this into 6 Texas sized muffins and used turbinado sugar vs. white in the topping to give it an extra crunch. They baked up very nice and the extra cinnamon/brown sugar inside was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These are beautifully light and tender cinnamon streusel muffins, sweet and very nicely spiced. They actually resemble cupcakes more than muffins, not that that's a negative. The reason I give four stars then, is the complete lack of orange flavor. To my mind, something with orange in the title should taste at least somewhat of orange. As a side note, by following the recipe exactly, I was left with excess cinnamon filling. I also found that the streusel topping was in excess of what it needs to be, but that's more of a personal preference. I cut it in half, which was perfect in my opinion. I would make these again, but would add about a teaspoon of orange zest to the batter as I think the cinnamon and orange together would be a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Only change was to add some orange zest to boost the orange flavor. These came out moist with the nice added crunch of the steusel on top. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Oh my word these were sooo good! I followed the recipe as is (save making one teeenie weeenie mistake by not adding any batter on top of the first streusel, which really shouldn't have changed the taste anyway.) They turned out so light and fluffy with just a delicate taste of citrus...no need to change a thing, lovely just lovely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Perfect as is. My middle child, who is incredibly picky, even with sweets, ate 4 of these at one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriellyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TxAggieCook
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were absolutely amazing! Best recipe on the website! For more orange flavor I added 1 teaspoon Orange extract. Also, I used soy milk and tofu instead of buttermilk and eggs (food allergies) and they still turned out scrumptious! Since I have a crazy sweet-tooth, I even drizzled some powdered sugar & soy milk frosting over the top. I will definitely be making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Maybe I did something or missed an ingredient, Humm not sure.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States