Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Def needs more orange. I will make again but add more zest for more of an orange-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Overall a pretty good muffin recipe, despite that I forgot to add the eggs! They smelled great baking! I felt the recipe needed more orange flavor, some orange extract to replace the vanilla. The muffins had a nice mellow orange flavor which may be related to the type of orange I used. I reduced the sugar, like I always do with any recipe, to 1/4 c + 1/8 c sugar. I used Cara Cara oranges for 1 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), and for the juice. For the topping I read other reviewers who said the topping recipe produced too much, so I reduced mine to 1/8 c of each flour and sugar but ended up having to add more to get the topping grainy enough to be used. I also added 1/2 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), which also gave it another hit of orange, added the 1/2 t cinnamon and also put in 1/4 t allspice. I would make this again, but I'd include 1 t orange extract, maybe increase the zest to 1 1/2 t in the batter, increase the zest with the topping to 1 t. I'd also recommend experimenting with different types of oranges and citrus (you could do a citrus blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS IF YOU'RE SINKING: Several people mentioned sinking, and if you're not overmixing... it's from putting too much brown sugar in your middle layer, so it sinks... A mistake I remember for all muffins/crumb cakes. I use the mixture for the middle AND for the topping to do TWO batches. I can't imagine using all of it for one. Outside of that... wow is this quick and easy!! I fill them to just about the top so there is a nice "muffin top." Not sure why all muffin recipes say only 2/3rd full or whatever. Better if you go towards the very top!! Made 10-11 muffins in a normal muffin tin. :) Also my oven tends to bake fast, so it only took 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I rate this recipe 4.5 stars as is. Quite good. I added orange zest (about 1/2 tsp) to the topping, added 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the batter, and included slivered almonds in the streusel. Made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
As written, they were pretty good. I agree, they could be a little orange-ier. I made the orange juice from concentrate and used 2 cans of water instead of 3, I think that this made them a little bitter, so if I do that again, I'll add a little bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
really good and very moist muffin. I used freshly squeezed orange juice , as well as 1/4 tsp of orange extract and 2 tsp of orange rind. orange flavor was perfect. My struesel topping didnt turn out at all, not crumbly more running and melted non the less it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great muffin - but definitely lacking in orange flavor which is disappointing because the combination of spices goes so beautifully with orange.... However, on a bright note these muffins are so moist and full of flavor on their own that next time I would add some orange zest to heighten the orange flavor. I made this into 6 Texas sized muffins and used turbinado sugar vs. white in the topping to give it an extra crunch. They baked up very nice and the extra cinnamon/brown sugar inside was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These are beautifully light and tender cinnamon streusel muffins, sweet and very nicely spiced. They actually resemble cupcakes more than muffins, not that that's a negative. The reason I give four stars then, is the complete lack of orange flavor. To my mind, something with orange in the title should taste at least somewhat of orange. As a side note, by following the recipe exactly, I was left with excess cinnamon filling. I also found that the streusel topping was in excess of what it needs to be, but that's more of a personal preference. I cut it in half, which was perfect in my opinion. I would make these again, but would add about a teaspoon of orange zest to the batter as I think the cinnamon and orange together would be a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Only change was to add some orange zest to boost the orange flavor. These came out moist with the nice added crunch of the steusel on top. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Oh my word these were sooo good! I followed the recipe as is (save making one teeenie weeenie mistake by not adding any batter on top of the first streusel, which really shouldn't have changed the taste anyway.) They turned out so light and fluffy with just a delicate taste of citrus...no need to change a thing, lovely just lovely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States