Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Made these with my 10 year old daughter who loves to bake. Accidentally added extra cinnamon to the batter but still came out great. Gone in fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half AP, and only one egg. A dozen muffins just doesn't need two eggs. I added the zest of half a navel orange, based on other reviewers' suggestions. This gave it a light but quantifiable orange taste. I think this would be rated higher if the name of it hadn't had "orange" in it - because it's a good muffin, just not orange-y. It's light if you don't overmix it, and my kidlet loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Normally I agree with recipes with this high of a rating, but this was a disappointment. There was hardly any flavor, even with me putting in a lot of extra orange zest. I just felt like I was eating a bland, oddly textured muffin (elastic instead of crumbly, and I didn't overmix), wishing I could just peel off & only eat the top (with the sugar crumbles). Won't be doing these again, with all the yummier muffin recipes I've got. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I added the zest of one orange to the muffin part of this recipe and I used thawed orange juice concentrate to really bump up the flavor of orange in this recipe. (I read through the reviews before making these and a constant complaint was that it wasn't orange-y enough.) I wisked together the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients seperately, then folded the wet into the dry to prevent overmixing. I used a teaspoon measuring spoon to evenly distribute the topping over all the muffins. These baked up perfectly and everyone just loved them. I did not have any issues with dry muffins. I highly recommend doing what I did and using thawed orange juice concentrate and adding orange zest for more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and we loved it. But because I made them in two 11 mini-muffin tins, next time I'll double the Streusel and perhaps also add some orange extract to enhance the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Def needs more orange. I will make again but add more zest for more of an orange-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Overall a pretty good muffin recipe, despite that I forgot to add the eggs! They smelled great baking! I felt the recipe needed more orange flavor, some orange extract to replace the vanilla. The muffins had a nice mellow orange flavor which may be related to the type of orange I used. I reduced the sugar, like I always do with any recipe, to 1/4 c + 1/8 c sugar. I used Cara Cara oranges for 1 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), and for the juice. For the topping I read other reviewers who said the topping recipe produced too much, so I reduced mine to 1/8 c of each flour and sugar but ended up having to add more to get the topping grainy enough to be used. I also added 1/2 t orange zest (which the recipe did not call for), which also gave it another hit of orange, added the 1/2 t cinnamon and also put in 1/4 t allspice. I would make this again, but I'd include 1 t orange extract, maybe increase the zest to 1 1/2 t in the batter, increase the zest with the topping to 1 t. I'd also recommend experimenting with different types of oranges and citrus (you could do a citrus blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
HELPFUL TIPS IF YOU'RE SINKING: Several people mentioned sinking, and if you're not overmixing... it's from putting too much brown sugar in your middle layer, so it sinks... A mistake I remember for all muffins/crumb cakes. I use the mixture for the middle AND for the topping to do TWO batches. I can't imagine using all of it for one. Outside of that... wow is this quick and easy!! I fill them to just about the top so there is a nice "muffin top." Not sure why all muffin recipes say only 2/3rd full or whatever. Better if you go towards the very top!! Made 10-11 muffins in a normal muffin tin. :) Also my oven tends to bake fast, so it only took 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I rate this recipe 4.5 stars as is. Quite good. I added orange zest (about 1/2 tsp) to the topping, added 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the batter, and included slivered almonds in the streusel. Made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
As written, they were pretty good. I agree, they could be a little orange-ier. I made the orange juice from concentrate and used 2 cans of water instead of 3, I think that this made them a little bitter, so if I do that again, I'll add a little bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States