Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and they were great! My husband has been eating them non stop, good thing I doubled the recipe! I would agree that there isn't much orange flavor, next time I might add some orange zest as recommended by another user. Also, upon mixing, I only turned a few times so there was still dry mix spots. The muffins rose and crowned beautifully! thank you michelleca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaolinaMAG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
fluffy, moist and defintely cinnamony with a citrus flavor. I needed to use up both buttermilk and orange juice and found this recipe! I am so glad I did. Followed recipe to a "T" and it made exactly 12 muffins. The only thing negative was the brown sugar and cinnamon sprinkle was way too much for 12 muffin cups. Next time I will just make oly half. Also, I think next time I will add orange zest in the wet batter to kick up the citrusy flavor. I filled the batter 2/3 to the top and added a generous amount of streusel topping. Baked for 22 minutes. All in all a nice muffin. thankyou for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I know that they are called "orange cinnamon muffins"... but I had no orange so I used some left over morning coffee as a substitute. I am sooo glad I did! They came out with a slight coffee flavor, also I added maple extract instead of vanilla, again because I didn't have any vanilla. YUM! I also put extra brown sugar in the middle just because that is my favorite part, and also glad i did that. These are TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These are good. :) The swirl is pretty, the flavor is light and they are moist. A nice treat. The first hour they were soft and moist but after a few hours they become dense and rubbery, the kids enjoyed them but you needed water. I tried not to over mix them but perhaps I did? Flavor was good though and swirl was pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Awesome muffins - thought the orange would be overpowering, but it wasn't. Better than Perkins muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruderby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I agree with most of the reviews...great muffin recipe, but needs an extra orange-y kick, if they are going to be called orange muffins. That being said, I had leftover batter and made mini-muffins out of just the batter (not middle or top layer) and they were quite tasty! The only changes I made were I used applesauce instead of oil and I used a bit more cinnamon in the middle layer. Next time I'll add 1 tsp. orange zest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I like my orange muffins more orangy. Next time I'll add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Made these with my 10 year old daughter who loves to bake. Accidentally added extra cinnamon to the batter but still came out great. Gone in fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half AP, and only one egg. A dozen muffins just doesn't need two eggs. I added the zest of half a navel orange, based on other reviewers' suggestions. This gave it a light but quantifiable orange taste. I think this would be rated higher if the name of it hadn't had "orange" in it - because it's a good muffin, just not orange-y. It's light if you don't overmix it, and my kidlet loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Normally I agree with recipes with this high of a rating, but this was a disappointment. There was hardly any flavor, even with me putting in a lot of extra orange zest. I just felt like I was eating a bland, oddly textured muffin (elastic instead of crumbly, and I didn't overmix), wishing I could just peel off & only eat the top (with the sugar crumbles). Won't be doing these again, with all the yummier muffin recipes I've got. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Kindt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States