Cinnamon Stove Top Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
A good granola which can be cut and cooled into bars. I left out the butter and used just over 1 T. oil per cup of oats (1/2 when cooking oats, half when melting sugar and honey) to keep it healthier and less like a cookie. I don't keep molasses on hand so I replaced it with extra honey - lighter flavor, put still good. CAUTION: do NOT stop stirring oats! The oats seemed a little soft after cooking 3-4 minutes, so T suggest cooking them an extra minute if you like a real crunchy granola versus a soft granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this granola and the cooking method. You don't have to heat up the house to make granola in the summer. I added 1/2 cup each oatbran, wheat bran, ground flax, chopped walnuts, chopped pecans, and sliced almonds with the oats when they were toasting to add more fiber and nutrition. I used half the butter and added a little water to thin the syrup before adding the oats. I like how it makes clusters when removed from the pan after cooling. One time I used maple syrup in place of the honey and both options tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was my first attempt at making granola. Very easy. Very quick to make. The only changes I made was to add a little vanilla at the end. I used regular oats (not instant as I wasn't sure if that would work). I used some coconut and some chopped walnuts also. I wasn't very thrilled about how chewy this granola was. I was expecting something crunchier. It actually hurt my jaw to have it for breakfast. However, the taste was terrific and if eaten as a snack was great. I'm going to try my hand at some other granola recipes on this site but I will most likely make this one again as, like I said, the taste was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great as is! I did change it up a little on the second batch (and there will be more batches!) Added 1/2 cup of coconut, 1 & 1/2 cup whole almonds and 1 cup of dried cranberries to the mix. Also added 1 tsp of almond flavoring to the sugar, molasses, honey and butter. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
My family loved this! The flavor was great! I added a dried mixed berry and almonds, cashews, and peanuts. It didn't stick together great, so next time I think I'm going to lessen it to 3 cups of oats and keep the same amount of the syrup. Also I'm going to try cooking the syrup a little bit longer...I'll keep you posted. 6.17.09, 3 cups of oats and cooked the syrup longer....delicious! It is definitely sticking together better! Probably could do 4 cups and it still stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is delicious! The versatility of this dish is as endless as the fruits or nuts you like! I thought initially that it felt a little grainy to chew, but it only got better with age. It takes away hunger issues quickly and in such a tasty way! Thanks for posting this recipe, roweena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
1st time to make granola, made just as the recipe goes, no changes. Came out great! Husband loves it too. Will be very yummy in yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My dad makes this ALL the time. it is his staple, and I agree, it is very good. We sometimes add maple syrup to it especially when we are low on brown sugar, and the flavor is amazing, very new england-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Good recipe - my boyfriend prefers it crunchier, so it's not his favorite recipe. Next time, I'd cook longer and possibly bake. It basically tastes like a chewy granola bar right now... sort of the wrong consistency if you were planning to eat with milk for breakfast... but good as a munchy/snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
wonderful and easy. fun for kids to help. so many different variations that you can use. for those that said to chewy .. you needed to toast it longer. every stove is different. I did mine slowly stirring constantly for almost ten minutes. you want a beautiful golden color like the picture. Make the perfect amount for several meals. Easy, fast, tastes great and good for you. My guys like it with milk and warm fresh from my pan lol once it cools and whatever is left I put in a tupperware canister and put it in the frig. I dont know how long it will last cause its go real fast in my house. I love mine with fresh peaches and some cream. or yogurt and dried fruit in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, New York, USA
Living In: Constantia, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States