Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JFOCHEK
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I didn't have any trouble making the dough. I ground the almonds in small batches (about 1 - 2 handfuls at a time) in my food processor until they were very fine. I wasn't able to get the same results grinding more almonds at once; the pieces were still too large. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of parchment so I didn't have any "sticky issues" there either. However, I think the bake time listed in the recipe is way, way, way too long. I baked my first two batches at 325F for 12 minutes (half the recommended time!) and they ended up misshapen on the bottom... It was almost like the middles exploded and oozed out. I reduced the baking time to 8 minutes for my last dozen, and they were perfect. ("Perfect" to me is completely cooked through but tender, with a light brown cookie and still-white glaze.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFOCHEK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
The taste of these is wonderful, very light and cinnamony. I did have some trouble working with the dough. It was very gooey at first, so I put it in the fridge without a cover and let it set for awhile and it became much more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I am rating this very high - the cookies were fantastic. I was a little nervous to make them after reading several comments about how sticky and hard to work with the dough is. I, however, did NOT have this problem at all. I used ground almond from the bulk barn, and didn't have any lemon zest so I just skipped that part. I added 1/4 tsp of cloves and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I whipped my egg whites (2 large eggs worth) nice and fluffy for several minutes in my mixer. I added the sugar gradually, and it made this very gooey marshmallow type of stuff. I folded it into the almond/spice mixture and it was pretty crumbly looking. I popped it into the fridge while I waited for the oven and prepped my pans. (max 5 minutes). I found the dough easy to work with if you knead it with your hands first. I rolled it between two sheets of parchment and cut out my stars (2 sizes). The meringue glaze is very thick, but easy to paint on with a pastry brush. The cookies baked for 9-11 minutes, until the glaze JUST started to brown on the points of the stars. They sat on the pans for a minute or two, then went onto my cooling racks. When warm, they're crispy on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside. I hope they stay this delicious even after they cool. FANTASTIC recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
These cookies worked out very well. I used a smaller star cut-out and probably baked them too long, as they are very crunchy - hopefully they're a little chewier when you don't overcook them! They rolled out beautifully and taste great, although I would probably reduce the cinnamon just a little bit, and I usually like lots. My one complaint is the glaze, which browned in the oven and isn't pretty at all. Is the recipe accurate in saying you put the glaze on BEFORE baking? Next time I'll leave it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Scrumptious! I ended up being short on almonds, so used 2c. ground almonds and 2/3 c. almond powder (from the asian market) - gave it a delicious ameretto flavor. ABSOLUTELY GREASE YOUR PANS WELL, OR YOU'LL HAVE A BIG MESS. I also found that my glaze turned brown, and I know my oven bakes on the hot side, so I made sure the oven light was off and reduced the temp and cooking time. The last batch I cooked for 15 minutes at 315 degrees, and they were just barely starting to brown. Has anyone else experienced the temp/time being too high/long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
Wow, these cookies are delicious, fun to make, easy and just all around good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were super tasty! I thought they tasted like the Quaker oatmeal breakfast bars. I made them for someone I know that has a gluten allergy. I refrigerated the dough as suggested, as it did look pretty gooey. That seemed to work! I used a heart shaped cookie cutter for Valentine's Day, and an 18 minute cook time seemed to be pretty good. I don't have a gluten allergy, but will be making them again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was not entirely impressed with this cookie. I was trying to finding something similar to the german cinnamon star cookie and thought this would be it - however it just didnt turn out right. The taste of this cookie was good - the lemon was a nice little surprise. However, the recipe as a whole was just not easy to work with. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I'd tried other Cinnamon Star recipes and was about to give up. This one worked perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
An old family favorite that I could not reproduce from Mom's recipie, but this was very close! We added the cinamon and a 1/4 teaspoon of cloves into the egg mixture instead of into the nuts. Did not use any lemon zest or lemon jusice, otherwise followed the recipe and got good reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States