Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
Wow, these cookies are delicious, fun to make, easy and just all around good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I'd tried other Cinnamon Star recipes and was about to give up. This one worked perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Great cookie! Has good presentation, flavor and easy to make. I made it for a local "Night of the Stars", which features local talent. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
These cookies worked out very well. I used a smaller star cut-out and probably baked them too long, as they are very crunchy - hopefully they're a little chewier when you don't overcook them! They rolled out beautifully and taste great, although I would probably reduce the cinnamon just a little bit, and I usually like lots. My one complaint is the glaze, which browned in the oven and isn't pretty at all. Is the recipe accurate in saying you put the glaze on BEFORE baking? Next time I'll leave it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I had a co-worker of mine bring these in and they were to die for. I can't say I've ever made these as I try, is the dough supposed to be THAT sticky before rolling ? I keep thinking I made it wrong even tho' the dough remains the same consistency no matter what version is tried.... The dough is not tough or stiff or rollable, it's all around 'marshmallow goo'...am I doing something wrong ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Seriously difficult to work with, but the results are great. I only have a large star cookie cutter, so I used one additional egg white and then set aside 1 cup for the topping. I think that must have upset the ratios, because my dough was way too sticky to work with until I added a lot of extra powdered sugar. And I still didn't have quite enough meringue for the topping. The smell and flavor were wonderful. I'm a little hesitant to try making them again...but the gluten-sensitive folks did appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
The taste of these is wonderful, very light and cinnamony. I did have some trouble working with the dough. It was very gooey at first, so I put it in the fridge without a cover and let it set for awhile and it became much more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Scrumptious! I ended up being short on almonds, so used 2c. ground almonds and 2/3 c. almond powder (from the asian market) - gave it a delicious ameretto flavor. ABSOLUTELY GREASE YOUR PANS WELL, OR YOU'LL HAVE A BIG MESS. I also found that my glaze turned brown, and I know my oven bakes on the hot side, so I made sure the oven light was off and reduced the temp and cooking time. The last batch I cooked for 15 minutes at 315 degrees, and they were just barely starting to brown. Has anyone else experienced the temp/time being too high/long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
easy to make and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was not entirely impressed with this cookie. I was trying to finding something similar to the german cinnamon star cookie and thought this would be it - however it just didnt turn out right. The taste of this cookie was good - the lemon was a nice little surprise. However, the recipe as a whole was just not easy to work with. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States