Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
An old family favorite that I could not reproduce from Mom's recipie, but this was very close! We added the cinamon and a 1/4 teaspoon of cloves into the egg mixture instead of into the nuts. Did not use any lemon zest or lemon jusice, otherwise followed the recipe and got good reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Really didn't like...wasn't sweet like I thought a 'cookie' would be. Dry, pretty flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were super tasty! I thought they tasted like the Quaker oatmeal breakfast bars. I made them for someone I know that has a gluten allergy. I refrigerated the dough as suggested, as it did look pretty gooey. That seemed to work! I used a heart shaped cookie cutter for Valentine's Day, and an 18 minute cook time seemed to be pretty good. I don't have a gluten allergy, but will be making them again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
they are good, esp right after they are made. they need something, may try to add vanilla next time. Best when right out of the oven- like most cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JFOCHEK
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I didn't have any trouble making the dough. I ground the almonds in small batches (about 1 - 2 handfuls at a time) in my food processor until they were very fine. I wasn't able to get the same results grinding more almonds at once; the pieces were still too large. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of parchment so I didn't have any "sticky issues" there either. However, I think the bake time listed in the recipe is way, way, way too long. I baked my first two batches at 325F for 12 minutes (half the recommended time!) and they ended up misshapen on the bottom... It was almost like the middles exploded and oozed out. I reduced the baking time to 8 minutes for my last dozen, and they were perfect. ("Perfect" to me is completely cooked through but tender, with a light brown cookie and still-white glaze.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFOCHEK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was not entirely impressed with this cookie. I was trying to finding something similar to the german cinnamon star cookie and thought this would be it - however it just didnt turn out right. The taste of this cookie was good - the lemon was a nice little surprise. However, the recipe as a whole was just not easy to work with. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
easy to make and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Scrumptious! I ended up being short on almonds, so used 2c. ground almonds and 2/3 c. almond powder (from the asian market) - gave it a delicious ameretto flavor. ABSOLUTELY GREASE YOUR PANS WELL, OR YOU'LL HAVE A BIG MESS. I also found that my glaze turned brown, and I know my oven bakes on the hot side, so I made sure the oven light was off and reduced the temp and cooking time. The last batch I cooked for 15 minutes at 315 degrees, and they were just barely starting to brown. Has anyone else experienced the temp/time being too high/long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
The taste of these is wonderful, very light and cinnamony. I did have some trouble working with the dough. It was very gooey at first, so I put it in the fridge without a cover and let it set for awhile and it became much more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Seriously difficult to work with, but the results are great. I only have a large star cookie cutter, so I used one additional egg white and then set aside 1 cup for the topping. I think that must have upset the ratios, because my dough was way too sticky to work with until I added a lot of extra powdered sugar. And I still didn't have quite enough meringue for the topping. The smell and flavor were wonderful. I'm a little hesitant to try making them again...but the gluten-sensitive folks did appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States