Cinnamon Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
After reading the other reviews I made a few changes that I think really helped this recipe out! We prefer soft cookies instead of crispy cookies, so I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup packed brown sugar instead of 2 cups white sugar. I also added 2 tsp baking soda and baked them on a stone for 10 mins. They turned out nice and soft and practically fell off the baking stone! I also used shortening instead of butter since I didn't have any butter on hand (weird, I know) and they still turned out fine. They are VERY cinnamon-y though, so I may not put quite so much cinnamon in next time. But overall I was happy with how they turned out! (I only gave the recipe 3 stars because of how much "doctoring" I had to do to it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I wanted a basic thin, crisp cinnamon cookie using no other spices or flavorings. This appeared to be the one, that is until you get to the baking time. 15 to 18 minutes for thin cut-outs?? Can't be. You would have mini bricks by then. And according to some reviewers, that's exactly what happened. So, I mixed up a half batch just adding a pinch of salt along with the flour and cinnamon. I rolled and cut according to directions (even used a star cutter), placed on a parchment-lined sheet pan and baked for 6 minutes, resting on the sheet 1 minute before moving to cooling rack. Once cooled these cookies firmed up to be crisp and snappy -- just what I wanted. But the taste was a little chalky from all of the cinnamon. So to salvage the stars I did bake, I drizzled them with a simple powdered sugar glaze. Not too shabby with a cup of ginger tea... Oh, and the remaining dough I cut into larger shapes, used a drinking straw to make a hole and baked for 8 minutes to harden to use for ornaments. Even though this recipe has its faults as an edible cookie, all is not lost as it does make very attractive (and aromatic) ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These cookies are a favorite with my family. Read reviews that said they turned out like hockey pucks - I think cooking time depends a lot on the size of the cookie cutter you use. I had to experiment a little to find the right cooking time. I use a small star cookie cutter and only bake them for 8 minutes and they turn out perfect. experiment thou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious. Excellent, sturdy cookie for cookie exchanges or holiday presents. Delightful smell while baking that livens up the whole house. Great for dipping in coffee/tea for breakfast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These cookies are good but I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the second batch I made and they where much better. My house did smell so good while I was making these though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bells, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These cookies are great! They are crunchy, and very cinnamon-y, which makes them fanastic to serve with coffee or hot tea. They will keep in the pantry for long periods of time and the recipe makes a large amount. Highly recommend - I make sure to have enough on hand for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Cookies turned out dry and hard as a rock. Sprinkled sugar on the 2nd batch to see if it helped, but it wasn't much better. I rolled them out thicker than called for, and only baked them about 10 minutes (recipe called for 15-18), and they still turned into hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I should have taken a picture of these, they DID turn out beautiful to LOOK at. However, although they came out of the oven soft and the smell was very good, once they cooled off, they were hard as brick and completely unedible. I rolled them out a lot thicker than the recipe called for even, and still had a problem.I think this recipe has potential, but it needs a little tweeking in order to make them tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States