Cinnamon Spice Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very nice. They flatten well if you just let them cool on the pan and they have a nice flavor of salty, sweet, and cinnamon. Plus, if you underbake slightly you get chewy, yet soft cookies. A great addition to my Christmas cookie tins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I think my main problem with this recipe is that I didn't like the cinnamon chips very much. The only brand I could find was Hershey's so I don't know if another brand would be better. I got several compliments from others on the cookies, though, so maybe it was just me. I did add a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips since the cinnamon chips I bought were in a bag with 1 2/3 c instead of 2 c. I left out the nuts and increased the cinnamon to 2 1/2 tsp and the cloves to 1/2 tsp. Oh, and I substituted unsalted butter for one cup of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good cookie! crisp outside and chewy inside, just perfect! Love the cinnamon flavor. Great fall season cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I did use all butter instead of shortening in this recipe, so my cookies were flatter than what is pictured. The cinnamon chips I used are from King Arthur Flour, and those are the best-tasting ones I have tried. I didn't use the pecans because of the little girls I was making these for. These are delicious, buttery cookies! They are a big hit with my audience! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These cookies are PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!! I have not found a better recipe for cinnamon chips. This recipe makes TONS of cookies. BEST RECIPE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiebaker21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These were woooonderful! Only thing I'd change is if you prefer a more solid, crunchy cookie, you may want to bake them for few minutes longer. My first batch I took out at 10 minutes (I like more chewy cookies) but they were still very wet. Second batch I let go about 15 minutes and they were perfect. Still chewy, but solid! Thanks for this recipe, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made these almost exactly by the recipe except (1) I didn't have shortening so I used butter, and (2) I didn't have nutmeg or cloves so I substituted pumpkin pie spice. They were a huge hit. They have a really smooth spice flavor and the chips are just a perfect complement. We will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These were mentioned on the Buzz the other day and I had a bag of cinnamon chips sitting in my cabinet forever, so I thought I'd give them a try. Holy delicious cookies....if I could give them more than 5 stars I would. They had the perfect hint of cinnamon and spice and the chips just put them over the top. I didn't add the pecans, because the guys here don't like them, but next time I will add them to a batch, because I know the crunch would make them even better. These cookies give me the perfect excuse to stock up on cinnamon chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and I also made a few small substitutions to make up for what I didn't have on hand. I don't have shortening on hand so I used butter in it's place. I don't normally keep a lot of brown sugar on hand and I never have dark brown sugar on hand at all so I used half white and half light brown sugar and for the extra quarter cup of dark brown that the recipe asked for, I added 1/4 cup of molasses (which is what google told me to sub in a pinch). To compensate for the extra moisture that the molasses added to the recipe, I added an additional quarter cup of flour. I did not add the full amount of salt, a half teaspoon was plenty. After I added the one cup of cinnamon chips, I didn't think that was near enough so I dumped the rest of the bag in. The more the merrier, right? This recipe turned out a soft and chewy cookie, which is a favorite in this house. Very cinnamon-y and just......wonderfully comforting. What I liked best about this cookie dough is it was ready to go right off, you didn't have to chill the dough, even with using butter, and it didn't spread much and it adapted well to substitutions, which I think speaks volumes for a great recipe. I'll make this again! NOTE: Next time I make these, I'll roll them in sugar. I think they might be prettier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are AMAZING! The only change I made was to use regular shortening (didn't have butter flavored) and I didn't add the nuts. Hubby said they reminded him of a cinnamon bun. Note: I got slightly over 60 cookies. Cookie perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States