Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family (and friends) LOVE this recipe! They turn out beautiful every time and taste oooh so yummy! I have made two minor changes: 2 tsp. baking soda (instead of 4) and 1 tsp. salt (instead of 2) Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I liked this one, others loved them at my family event. I did make a few changes-only used 1 cup butter, added flaxmeal to replace other amount. I used 1 cup each white and brown sugar, blackstrap molasses, and added cyrstalized giner bits to the last few batches. There was no way this works to roll into balls using butter. I chilled it after 2 trays had cooked into flat slightly lumpy things. After chilling and changing to my smaller cookie scoop, they were better, best after adding the ginger bits. I will make again doing aditional modifications though. I thought they were too greasy/oily from the butter and the chips. I plan on cutting the butter to 1/2-3/4 cup and adding more flaxmeal &/or applesauce to get some rise and not flat cookies. These require the ginger bits for my house to really enjoy them. They are all gone so they only lasted 2 days! I am passing the recipe on to my aunt who loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Marvelous Cookies! My husband loves ginger and cinnamon and he loved these cookies! I did of course add a little bit to the recipe. I used 1 cup white 1 cup brown sugar. (B sugar helps keep baked goods soft after they are cooked plus more molasses taste is always good) I also used bread flour instead of AP (all purpose). The high protein content in the bread flour makes them chewier. I also almost added more spices some Ground Cloves, Cinnamon and extra ginger. :) Also watch the bake time mine barely took 8 mins. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharveycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I had a little trouble with the first two batches that went into the oven, but by the third batch they were turning out good. I think I made too many substitutions which caused a runny cookie to start with. Mine were still very flat and the appearance wasn't great but the flavor was AWESOME! My husband really liked them. Next time I will try to follow the recipe closer because this was a really great flavored cookie. :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Outstanding. Makes a ton. I didn't change a thing. I found that if you refrigerate the dough, it was actually harder to roll because the chips didn't sink it. I have rolled these in sugar and popped them in the freezer. They will be wonderful when a friend pops over and I need a quick dessert with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
VERY buttery. I used white morsels b/c it was all I had. These were good, but they was nothing extra-special about them to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a few years. I make them most often at Christmas, but my father-in-law asks for them all the time. I frequently get asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These really are delicious! I used butter flavored shortening and used regular molasses, but kept everything else the same. These are like a soft chewy gingersnap. They were better the next day also. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Nice cookie. I used mostly butter and 1/4 of the shortening, otherwise followed exactly. My non-spice hubby says that they are pretty good, that's a compliment. I think they are a bit too sweet, otherwise very good. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
WOW!!! These are my new favorite cookies with molasses! I halved the recipe but I still added almost a whole bag of cinnamon chips. They are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States